FINGERPRINT INSTRUCTIONS



Packet #16



These forms must not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law.

The court is not responsible for (1) actions taken by the users of these forms or (2) the users' reliance upon the instructions or information provided.

Do I have to be fingerprinted to obtain minor guardianship?

If you are a **non-blood relative** (see Packet # 1, *General Information*) asking to be appointed as guardian of a minor, you **must** complete the fingerprint process through the Court. After receiving your hearing date, you have ten days to complete the fingerprint packet and return it to the Clerk.



When you go to the Probate Clerk's Office to file your Petition for Guardianship of a Minor, ask for and obtain the fingerprint packet from the Clerk.



Take this fingerprint packet, a state-issued picture ID, and a 9 x 12 envelope to one of the following locations:

Tucson Police Department 1100 S. Alvemon Way Tucson, AZ 85711 (520) 791-4697

(520) 791-4697 Hours: Wednesday 8:00am – 3:00pm Pima County Sheriff 1650 E. Benson Hwy., Ste. B Tucson, AZ 85714 (520) 351-4971 Monday – Friday 10:00am – 2:00pm 1st and 3rd Saturdays 9am – Noon



As of March 2016, there is a \$10.00 fee for fingerprinting at either location and the hours are as listed above.



After fingerprinting, make sure that the card is signed by the officer or deputy who took the fingerprints and then place the card into the 9 x 12 envelope and seal the envelope.



Inside the fingerprint packet, there is also a fingerprint card inventory sheet. Fill out your name and date of birth in the designated section of the form.



Prepare a 10 x 13 envelope with three first-class stamps addressed to:

Arizona Department of Public Safety Applicant Team One, M/D 2250 P.O. Box 18430 Phoenix, AZ 85005-8430



Get a cashier's check or money order (personal checks and cash are not accepted) for \$22.00 (as of March 2016) made payable to the Arizona Department of Public Safety.



You **should** hand-deliver the fingerprint card in the sealed envelope, the fingerprint card inventory sheet, the 10 x 13 addressed envelope with three first-class stamps attached, and the \$22.00 cashier's check or money order to the Probate Clerk's Office within ten days of filing the Petition. You can also mail the items to the Clerk's Office but it is recommended that you hand deliver them.

Clerk of Court – Probate Pima County Superior Court 110 W. Congress Tucson, AZ 85701

The fingerprint results will be returned to the Court and the Judge will review them *prior* to the guardianship hearing.