
OBTAINING  A 
DEFAULT 

Packet  #11 

These forms must not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. 

The court is not responsible for (1) actions taken by the users of these forms or 

(2) their reliance upon the instructions or information provided.  
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What is a Default? 
A default means that your spouse did not disagree with or file a “Response” 

to the divorce papers that you “served.” At the very least they did not file the 

“Response” within the legal time limit. Therefore, you can ask for a default 

decision.  

What are some other responses you need 
to look for?  
Instead of filing a “Response,” your spouse may file other court documents, for example a 

Motion to Dismiss, or a Motion to Change Venue. If your spouse files either of these court 

documents, then you must file a Response to that document. 

If a Response is filed, you are strongly urged to seek the advice of a lawyer. You may not be 

able to get a Default Decree.  

Exactly when can you file? 
Your spouse has 20 days to file a “Response” if the papers were served in Arizona. 

They have 30 days to respond if they were served outside of Arizona.  When 

counting, include weekends and holidays.  

But if the last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holidays then DO NOT count that day, 

count the next workday. Check with the Court Clerk to find out if a response was filed. 

If you attended the Conciliation Court for counseling then you cannot count the time that your 

divorce was on hold.	
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Important Reminders 

The symbol (Triangle with an exclamation inside) is a warning.  

It could be a warning for you to make sure that something is done. 

It could also be a warning that the topic can be confusing and you may need to 
talk to an attorney if you need help.   

There are lawyers who will help you help yourself.  This means that they will only charge 
you for giving you the help you need, and you can complete the court papers on your own 
or ask the lawyer for help with your papers.  

For more information, call the Self-Service Center at (520) 724-8456 and ask how to find 
an attorney. 

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING

If you have already had a hearing (for example for temporary orders) and 
your spouse appeared in Superior Court, then you have to “serve” your 
spouse written notice of your application for default decree. Your spouse 
has to have at least (3) days prior notice before your default hearing.  

Your spouse must know the exact day that you are scheduled to ask for a 
default judgment or decree. This notice has to be filed with the Clerk of 
the Court. 
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What are the basic steps for getting a default 
decree? 

Step 1. 

The Countdown 

Begin counting the day after your 

spouse is served the divorce papers. 

You cannot begin step two until after 

your last counted day.  

Step 4. 

File & Mail 

Go to the Clerk of the Superior Court at:          Pima County Arizona Superior Court 

110 West Congress 

Tucson, Arizona 85701 

Give the Clerk at the filing counter the original and both copies of the Application and Affidavit 

for Default. Make sure you get both copies back from the Clerk.  

Mail or hand-deliver a copy of the Application and Affidavit for Default to your spouse.  If you 

don’t know where you spouse lives then send a copy to his/her last known address. You can 

use the ENTRY OF DEFAULT form in this packet.  

As mentioned earlier you may have to “serve” this notice to your spouse. 

You must wait 10 working days after filing the Application and Affidavit before you can call for 
your hearing date.  

Step 2. 

Complete the Request for Default Form 

The request for default is called the Application 

and Affidavit for Default. The form and 

instructions are in this packet.  

Step 3. 

Copy, sign, and notarize Application for Default Form 

Make two copies of your Application and Affidavit for Default. Do not sign 

orignal or the two copies. The Clerk of Court will notarize your original and two 

copies of Application and Affidavit of default when you file it. 
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Arizona Superior Court in Pima County has a program 

through which free assistance is given to anyone 

representing themselves in a family court, including anyone seeking a default judgment in 

a divorce or special paternity case. 

At the clinic, someone will review your decrees, child support orders, and income-

withholding orders to help ensure these documents are complete and legally correct. 

Making use of the Clinic is in your best interest. The judge will not sign any documents 

that are incorrect or incomplete. In such cases, you will have to leave, correct your 

documents and then schedule another hearing. 

To schedule an appointment you can call the Superior Court Law Library at 724-8456, or 

go to the law library on the second floor of the Superior Court.   

After your appointment at the clinic, you can call the Superior Court and schedule your 

default hearing.  

Volunteer Lawyers Program 
Domestic Relations Clinic 

Step 5. 
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1. Fill in your name, street address, city, state, ZIP, telephone number in the 

       upper left hand corner.
  2. Clearly print your Superior Court Case Number.

3. Enter your name as the Petitioner.

4. Enter the name of your spouse as the Respondent.

Preparing "APPLICATION FOR DEFAULT" Section 

Item 2. Service of court papers 

Only check one of the two boxes. 

o If your spouse has signed an “Acceptance of Service” put a check mark

in the first box.

o Otherwise put a check mark in the second box.

Item 5. Compliance with Arizona family law 

Here you show the court that you have delivered a copy of the application for 

default form to your spouse. 

o Put a check mark in all the boxes that are true.

Instructions for Completing
  Application and Affidavit
           for Default 
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PETITIONER’S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING OR DELIVERY 

o Put a check mark in the box that best describes how the form was delivered to
your spouse

o If you put a check mark in the second box “delivered”, then describe in the
space provided how it was delivered.

Make two copies of your Application and Affidavit for Default. Do not sign orignal or the 

two copies. The Clerk of Court will notarize your original and two copies of Application 

and Affidavit of default when you file it. 

T
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While going to court for your default hearing may sound scary, it isn’t.  

The Default Hearing is one of the simplest types of hearing. You are basically going to meet with 

the judge, give the judge your paperwork, answer a few questions and then you’re done. 

The important thing is that you have filled out the paperwork completely and correctly. 

If you have taken all the correct steps like “serving” the proper papers to your spouse or other 

parent, you will usually receive your Judgment or Decree by the end of the hearing. 

What to do when it’s time for 
your default hearing? 

If you are asking for child support, make sure that you have made 

use of the Volunteer Lawyers Domestic Relations Clinic or used the 

on-line child support calculator available through the Superior 

Court’s website or at the Superior Court Library. Volunteers at the 

clinic will review your documents and make sure they are correct 

and complete.	
  

If your documents are not correct and complete, you will not get your Judgment or Decree 

and will have to leave the court, correct your paperwork and schedule another hearing. 

It is in your best interest to make sure that your paperwork is correct before you go to your 

hearing, 

You can bring the following instructions with you to court to help you 
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Check List of things to do for 
your default hearing 

Make 2 Copies of all the paperwork 
that applies to your divorce 

Attach one copy of everything to the ORIGINAL of the proposed Judgment or Divorce Decree. 

This is what you will give the judge at the hearing. 

Assemble the documents 

These would include: 

• Divorce Decree or other Order (See Decree packet #4 or #7)

• Parenting Plan signed by both parents (See Legal Decision-Making and Parenting Time packet)

• Agreement regarding division of community property and debt signed by both spouses

• Parent Worksheet for Child Support (See Packet #8 Child Support)

• Child Support Order (See Packet #8 Child Support)

• Income Withholding Order (See Packet #8 Child Support)

• Obligee/Obligor Fact Sheet (See Packet #8 Child Support)

Attach one copy of everything to both of your copies of the proposed Judgment or Divorce Decree. 

You will keep one copy for yourself and send the other copy to the other party. 
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Review your Order or Divorce Decree 

In general, everything that you are asking for in the proposed Order or Decree 

must be the same as the things you asked for in the Petition. 

ü The only exception to this is if you and your spouse have on file with 

the Court a written agreement with both of your notarized signatures. 

 

The judge will ask you some questions about your Order or Decree, 

such as how you divided the property and debts, why you asked for 

a particular type of legal decision-making or parenting time, and 

where the children will be living, etc. 

Know what your order or decree says and what you are requesting. 

Call to schedule your hearing 
Call the Hearing Officer’s chambers at 724-4370 any weekday.   

You should call as soon as your default is effective. The Hearing 

Officer’s assistant will assign a date for your hearing. 

Default hearings are scheduled at 11:00 a.m. Monday through 

Friday, with the exception of court holidays. 

Your hearing cannot be scheduled sooner than 61 days from when 

you originally served your spouse. If you served the other party by 

Publication then your hearing cannot be scheduled before 91 days 

from the date of publication. 

On the day of your hearing… 
You will be asked to wait in the lobby. At 10:30 a.m., the Clerk will call your name, 

along with others who are going for a Default Hearing.  You will be taken to the 

courtroom. 

In the courtroom, stand when your name is called and walk to the “bench” where the 

Judge is seated. You will be sworn in to tell the truth.  Lying in the court is called 

perjury and can have serious consequences, including criminal charges. 
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DO NOT bring drinks or food to court and 

don’t chew gum in the Courtroom.  

DO NOT wear shorts, cut-offs, sleeveless 

t-shirts, other overly casual or suggestive  

clothing.

Do dress properly. Wear a suit, dress, 

or other neat, clean clothing. 

You may ask the Judge questions, but 

he/she cannot give you legal advice. 

Always refer to the Judge as “Your 

Honor.” 
DO NOT bring your children to court. They are 

not permitted in the Courtroom.  

Do turn off your cell phones and 

pagers while you are in the courtroom. 

Be courteous and quiet while you are in 

the courtroom waiting for your hearing 

What the Judge will do… 
The Judge will look at the proposed Judgment or Decree and other documents you 

have prepared and make a final decision regarding your case. 

If the documents are correct and complete the Judge will sign the Judgment or Decree 

and any other documents that are needed. On the next few pages are some questions 

that the Judge may ask during your hearing. 

After your hearing you will need to wait in the Courtroom until all the cases have been 

heard. Then the Clerk will take you back to the Clerk’s office. If the Judge signed your 

Decree, the Clerk will Stamp all the copies of your Decree and you must mail one copy 

of the signed Decree to your now former spouse within three days. 
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What is your name? 

How long have you been domiciled (lived) in Arizona? 

Were you and your spouse living in Arizona or were either of you a member of the Armed 
Forces and stationed in Arizona at least 90 days before the Divorce Petition was filed? 

Are you or the other party pregnant? 

What was your date of marriage and where were you married? 

Have you been made aware of the Conciliation Services marriage counseling? 

Is your marriage irretrievably broken with no reasonable prospect of reconciliation? 

This means that there is no reasonable chance that you and your spouse can continue 
with your marriage. 

Do you want your name restored? 

You should answer, “yes,” only if you want to return to your maiden or former last name. 

Is the relief you are asking for today the same as what you asked for in the Petition of 
Dissolution or Paternity Judgment? 

The answer should be “yes.” 

What property and debts do you have from the marriage? 

Have you requested to divide the property and debts? 

Do you think the proposed division of property and debts is fair and equitable? 

How did you serve the Petition and other papers on your spouse and when was he or she 
served? 

General questions that the 
Judge may ask 
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The Judge may ask these questions if you 
served your spouse by publication 

What steps did you use to try to find your spouse? 

Who did you talk to about how to find your spouse? 

What was the last date you saw your spouse, received a letter or phone call? 

Additional questions that you might be 
asked if you have children 

How many children do you have from this marriage and what are their 

ages? 

What type of legal decision-making are you requesting for your minor 

child(ren)? 

What type of parenting time are you requesting for the non-custodial 

parent? 

Are there any expected problems with parenting time? 

Do you think the portions of the proposed Decree/Order dealing with legal decision-making and 

parenting time are in the best interests of the children? 

Who will provide medical/dental insurance for the child(ren)? 

Are you or the other parent employed? How much do you both earn? 

What are day care costs for the child(ren)? 

Who should claim the children as tax exemptions for income tax purposes and in which years? 

Is the proposed Child Support according to the Guidelines?  If not, why should the Court not follow 

the guidelines? 

Were any children born during the marriage, which are not yours and your spouse’s? 
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

______________________________________ Case No. _________________ 
Petitioner 

and 

APPLICATION AND 

______________________________________ AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT 
Respondent 

NOTICE:  THIS IS AN IMPORTANT COURT DOCUMENT.  When this document is properly completed and 
filed,  Default has been applied for and entered.  The Default will be effective ten (10) business days after the 
filing of  this  completed document, unless the Respondent files a Response or otherwise defends before the 
ten-day period passes. 

STATE OF ARIZONA ) 
)ss. 

County of Pima ) 

APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR DEFAULT 

1. I am the Petitioner in this action, and I state all these matters under oath.  I now give notice that I am
requesting an entry of default judgment against the Respondent because no Response has been filed by
Respondent as of this time.

2. Service of the court papers on Respondent has been accomplished as follows:  (check one box)

 The Respondent has signed an Acceptance of Service, in which he or she has accepted service of 
the Summons, Petition and other papers, but has refused to answer so that a default may be 
entered;  

OR 

 I have had the Respondent served according to law with the Summons, Petition and other papers 
and Respondent has failed to plead, appear, answer, or otherwise defend in this court case in the 
time required by law. 

3. The Respondent is either not in the active military service of the United States or has otherwise waived his or
her rights under the Uniformed Service Members Civil Relief Act.

4. By completing the Certificate of Mailing or Delivery at the bottom of this form, I certify that I am mailing or
delivering a copy of this Application and Affidavit to the Respondent as notice that I have applied for default.
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5. In compliance with Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure, Rule 44(A), I have: (check all boxes that are
true)

 Mailed a copy of this Application and Affidavit to the Respondent at his/her last known address; 

OR 

 Mailed a copy of this Application and Affidavit to the attorney I know is representing my spouse, 
whom I claim to be in default;  

OR 

 Delivered a copy to Respondent, whom I claim to be in default; 

 Have mailed a copy of this Application and Affidavit to the Respondent’s last known address 
because I do not know my spouse's whereabouts and do not believe my spouse is represented by 
an attorney. 

Note:  If the Respondent fails to file a responsive pleading or otherwise defend in this action within 10 business days 
of the filing of this Application, a default judgment/decree may be entered.  The Petitioner must generally still attend a 
default hearing. 

_______________________________ 
 Petitioner  

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me on _____________ by ______________________________. 

______________________________________ 
Notary Public/Deputy Clerk 

My Commission Expires:  _________ 

PETITIONER'S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING OR DELIVERY 

A copy of this document was (check one box)  mailed postage pre-paid OR   delivered  (DESCRIBE HOW
DELIVERED) to the Respondent at the following address: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 
Petitioner 

Date:  ______________________________ 




