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DIVORCE 
WITHOUT CHILDREN 

PETITION 

Packet # 5 

 
 

These forms must not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. 

The court is not responsible for (1) actions taken by the users of these forms or 

(2) the users’ reliance upon the instructions or information provided.  
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Read this before you complete any forms 
in your packet. 

Sensitive data, or sensitive information, is information that you might not want other people to 

see. Sensitive data includes your social security numbers, bank account numbers, credit card 

numbers, and other financial account numbers. 

Court documents, for the most part, can be seen by anyone. If you need to include any of the 

types of information listed above, you should write “SEE CONFIDENTIAL SENSITIVE DATA 

FORM” on the document. Then you need to fill out the Confidential Sensitive Data Form.  This is 

where you will include the actual sensitive information. 

This is important because the “Confidential Sensitive Data Form” will not be seen by the public. 

If you ever need to give the court new information, then you should file an updated sensitive 

data form. Include all other sensitive data forms that you have already given the court, plus any 

new sensitive information that you need to tell the court. 

If you include “sensitive data” in documents filed with the court, other than 

on a Confidential Sensitive Data Form, you do so at your own risk. 

See Instructions on Completing the Sensitive Data Form near the end of this packet. 
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General Information & 
Frequently Asked Questions

Do not fill out all of the forms in all of the packets at the beginning of your case. 

Complete only the forms that you need for the step that you are working on. 

What is a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage? 

This petition is a written, legal request for a divorce. 

What do “Petitioner” and “Respondent” mean? 

Because you are the one asking and filing for a divorce, you are called the 

PETITIONER. Your spouse is the RESPONDENT. 

Are there any requirements for filing for divorce in Arizona? 

In order to file for a divorce in Arizona, you or your spouse must have lived in Arizona for at 

least 90 days before the time you file.  If one of you is in the military, that person has to have 

been stationed in Arizona for at least 90 days. If one of you has not lived in Arizona for at least 

90 days DO NOT FILE.  You have to wait until one of you has lived here for 90 days.  

Arizona is a no-fault divorce state. This means you only need to show that the marriage is 

irrevocably broken (meaning there is no reasonable possibility of the two of you getting back 

together). 

What can I ask for in my divorce? 

You may ask the court to divide property and assign debt. Arizona is a “community property” 

state, which means that almost all of the property that you and your spouse got while you were 

married belongs to the both of you. For more information about community property and the 

division of property and debt, see Packet #1, General Information.   

You may also be entitled to receive Spousal Maintenance (Alimony).  For more information, 

see Packet #1, General Information. 

There may also be financial or other issues that should be dealt with before your divorce is 

final. You can ask the court for Temporary Orders at the time you file your Petition or any time 
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afterward. For more information on temporary orders and how to file them, see Packet #13, 

Temporary Orders.  

This symbol is a warning. It can mean a few different things: 

• The topic can be confusing and you may need to ask a lawyer for help

• You may need to make sure that something is done

Whenever you see this symbol, make sure you read the information carefully and understand it 

fully. 

Do I need a lawyer’s help? 

Court cases can be very complicated, and even if you are representing yourself you should see 

a lawyer for legal advice as to how the law applies to you, and what is best in your particular 

situation. This might save you time, money and trips to court, and help you to avoid serious 

mistakes.   

There are lawyers who will help you. They will only charge you for giving you the help you need, 

and you can complete the court papers on your own or ask the lawyer for help with your papers. 

For more information, call the Self-Service Center at (520) 724-8456 and ask how to find an 

attorney. 

Where is the Self-Service Center? 

The Self-Service Center is a free service located in the Pima County Law Library, Room 256, on 

the second floor of the Pima County Superior Court (110 West Congress Street, Tucson, 

Arizona 85701). It is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays). For 

more information, call (520) 724-8456 or email pcll@sc.pima.gov. 

You can also contact the Pima County Bar Lawyer Referral Service by calling 520-623-4625. 

You can have 30 minutes with a family lawyer for a small fee or you may be directed to an 

attorney who will represent you for a reduced fee.  
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Are you the victim of domestic violence?

Important! Read this first…
Unfortunately, domestic violence may occur in any relationship and may be 

directed against you personally or against your children. 

You are a domestic violence victim if you or your children have experienced: 

• Physical acts like hitting, slapping, pushing, or kicking

• Threats of physical violence by phone or in person

• Abusive words and/or behavior used to control you or put you in any kind of danger

• Being followed around throughout the day or having your interaction with others

monitored

• Being forbidden to leave your house, or being taken against your will and kept at any

other location

• Having someone enter the house against your will, behave in a disorderly manner,

and/or damage property

• Conduct that involves disobeying court orders, including interfering with your parenting

time

• You DO NOT need to have been seen at a hospital or at a doctor’s

office. 

• The other person DOES NOT need to have been convicted of

domestic violence or assault. 

You can get an IMMEDIATE Order of Protection to keep him or her away from you and 

your children by obtaining a Petition for Order of Protection from the Clerk of the Court 

on the first floor of the Pima County Superior Court, Room 131A. You may submit the 

Petition to any of the following court locations between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 

p.m. 

Tucson City Court Pima County Juvenile Court Center 

103 E. Alameda St. 2225 E. Ajo Way 

(520) 791-4971 (520) 724-2045 
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Pima Superior Court Clerk’s Office 

110 W. Congress, 1st floor 

Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 

240 N. Stone Ave. 

(520) 724-3171 (520) 724-3210 

To get an Order of Protection after hours or on weekends or holidays, call: 

Tucson Police Department   Pima County Sheriff’s Department 

(520) 741-4444    (520) 351-4900 

In case of emergency, call 911. 

If you are in a protected location or shelter 

DO NOT put your address or phone number on the court documents! 

If possible, get a P.O. Box or use another valid mailing address on the papers, and tell 

the Clerk of the Court about your existing Order of Protection and case number.   

You can ask for a Protected Address with the Request for a Protected Address form.  Both 

the Request for a Protected Address and Order for a Protected Address are included at the 

end of this packet.   

You can find more information about Orders of Protection at the Clerk of Court located on the 

first floor of Pima County Superior Court (110 West Congress Street, Tucson Arizona 85701). 

They are open from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday (except holidays). For more 

information, call (520) 724-3210. 

The Request for a Protected Address is NOT the same form 

as the Confidential Sensitive Data Form. 
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How Do I get a Divorce? 
There are a few steps you have to take in order to get a divorce. 

Step 1.  File your divorce papers 

To file a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce), use the 

instructions and forms in this packet. This begins the divorce 

process. 

Step 2.  Serve the divorce paperwork 

A copy of your Petition and other paper work must be “served” on 

your spouse. This tells your spouse that you are asking for a 

divorce and gives your spouse an opportunity to file a Response 

to your Petition. There are very specific instructions for how to 

serve your spouse. Forms and instructions are in Packet #10 

Service of Papers. 

Step 3.  Request a default decision OR go forward with a divorce trial  

If your spouse does not file a Response to your Petition through the court within the time limits 

of the Summons (see Packet #10, Service on the Other Party), the divorce can proceed as a 

Default.  A Default means that the court will order everything legally reasonable you asked for in 

your Petition.  Before your divorce can proceed as a Default, you must file an application for 

Default. Forms and instructions are in Packet #11, Obtaining a Default Decree. 

If your spouse filed a Response and you cannot reach an agreement, you will 

need to have a divorce trial. Forms and instruction are in Packet #14 Trial 

Preparation. If this is the case, you should seek the advice of a lawyer. 

Step 4.  Get a final decision   

To make your divorce final, you have to fill out a Decree to be signed by the judicial officer. The 

Decree is the final order from the court granting you the divorce and deciding the other issues 

related to the divorce. For more information, see Packet # 7, Divorce without Children Decree. 
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How much will all this cost?
FEES IN GENERAL 

As of May 2014, the cost to file: 

• Packet # 5, Divorce without Children—Petition: $263

• Packet # 6, Divorce without Children—Response: $194

OTHER EXPENSES INCLUDE: 

• Copies of legal records through the Clerk of the Court, per page: $0.50

• General use copies made in the library, per page: $0.15

NOTE: You have to pay fees to file documents for your divorce. If you can’t afford the court fees 

or other costs for a divorce, you may be able to get a deferral or waiver. 

HOW TO GET A DEFERRAL OR WAIVER 

• A deferral means that you do not have to pay any fees at the beginning of your case,

but you will be expected to pay on a predetermined schedule.

• A waiver means that you do not have to pay the fees at all.

• Not everybody who requests a deferral or waiver receives one.

• You file for a deferral or waiver at the same time you file your petition or response.

For more information, see Packet # 12, Deferral-Waiver of Fees & Costs
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Volunteer Lawyers Program 
Domestic Relations Clinic

Pima County Superior Court has a program through which 

free assistance is given to people representing themselves 

in a family law matter. 

At the clinic, someone will review your Decrees, Child Support Orders, and Income Withholding 

Orders to help ensure these documents are complete and legally correct. 

Making use of the Clinic is in your best interest. The judicial officer will not sign any 

documents that are incorrect or incomplete. In such cases, you will have to leave, correct your 

documents, and then schedule another hearing. 

To schedule an appointment call the Pima County Law Library at 520-724-8456, or go in person 

to the library on the second floor of the Pima County Superior Court. 

There are lawyers who will help you help yourself 
This means that they will only charge for the help you need, and you can complete the court 

papers on your own.  

Court cases can be quite complicated, and talking to a lawyer can help you avoid serious 

mistakes and save you time, money and trips to the court. 

For more information, call the Self-Service Center at 520-724-8456 and ask how to find an 

attorney. You can also contact the Pima County Bar Lawyer Referral Service by calling 520-

623-4625. You can have one-half hour with a family lawyer for a small fee or you may be 

directed to an attorney who will represent you for a reduced fee.  

We encourage you to make use of the resources page at the end of this 

document for more information on finding a lawyer.
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Additional Resources Available to You 
Getting a divorce can be confusing and scary. If you feel you need help with parts of the divorce 

process, you can hire a “limited-scope attorney” who will only charge for giving the help you 

need. The Self-Service Center and the Domestic Relations Clinic will help you review your 

documents if you prefer to complete them on your own. 

To Find a Lawyer: 

Pima County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service: 520-623-4625 

Family Law Self-Service Center: 520-724-8456 

Southern Arizona Legal Aid: 520-623-9465 

Mediation Services and Parent Education: 

Pima County Conciliation Court: 520-724-5590 

 Provides free mediation services to residents of Pima County
 Administers Parent Education Classes

Model Parenting Time Plans: 
http://www.azcourts.gov/portals/31/parentingTime/PPWguidelines.pdf 

Child Support Help: 
Arizona DES Child Support Enforcement Division website: 
https://www.azdes.gov/az_child_support 

Child Support Calculator: 
http://www.azcourts.gov/familylaw/2011ChildSupportCalculator.aspx 

Other resources you may find helpful: 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.): 
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp?Title=25 

Pima County Bar Association Public Resource Page: 
http://www.pimacountybar.org/legal-resources 

State Bar of Arizona: 
http://www.azbar.org/Public 

Law Library website: 
http://www.sc.pima.gov/lawlibrary 
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General Instructions for Completing this Packet

You may type or write on the forms, but you must use black ink. 

This packet contains the following eight forms that must be filled out and submitted to the court: 

• Domestic Relations Cover Sheet

• Summons

• Preliminary Injunction

• Petition for Dissolution of Marriage

• Confidential Sensitive Data Form

• Affidavit Regarding Minor Children

• Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance

• Creditor’s Notification

The Caption 

The Caption is the information in the upper left hand side of the first page of each form. 

• Personal Information – Fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and

telephone number.

• Case No. – Leave this blank. The Clerk will fill in this information for you when you file

your Petition.

• Petitioner/Plaintiff – Enter your name as the Petitioner.

• Respondent/Defendant – Enter the name of your spouse as the Respondent.

At the end of the instructions, there are directions on how to file these forms with the court once 

they are completed. If you need a deferral or waiver, you must file the request for a deferral or 

waiver with this packet. 

For more information see Packet #12, Deferral/Waiver of Fees & Costs 
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Instructions for Completing 
the Domestic Relations 

Cover Sheet

PETITIONER’S ATTORNEY and ATTORNEY No. 

• Write “none” in both spaces.

PETITIONER’S NAME and PETITIONER’S ADDRESS 

• Fill in your name and address unless you are requesting a Protected Address.

RESPONDENT’S NAME 

• Fill in your spouse’s name.

CASE PREFERENCE 

• Leave this blank.

NATURE OF ACTION 

• Check the box that says “Dissolution.”

• Leave the rest of the form blank.
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PIMA COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT 

DOMESTIC RELATIONS COVER SHEET 

Complete this form to the best of your ability and 
include all known Petitioners and Respondents. 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT 

PETITIONER’S ATTORNEY ___________________________________  ATTORNEY No.  __________ 

PETITIONER’S NAME (s)  (List All)   PETITIONER’S ADDRESSES  
 (Include only if not represented by an attorney)  

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

RESPONDENT’S NAME (s)  (List All)  CASE PREFERENCE: ____________________ 
______________________________________  (cite statute or rule) 

______________________________________ 
EMERGENCY ORDER SOUGHT: 
€  TEMPORARY Restraining Order     
€  PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION 
€  OTHER: ___________________________ 

   (Specify) 

NATURE OF ACTION 
Place an “x” in the box which describes the nature of the case you are filing.  If more than one, circle the 
predominant one. 

DISSOLUTIONS: 300 UNCLASSIFIED PRE-JUDGMENT / POST-JUDGMENT 
�  Dissolution �  Legal Decision-Making  
� Foreign Decree 
� Pre-Judgment OSC 
� Post-Judgment OSC  
� Special Paternity – Maternity (310) 
� Annulment (320) 
� Legal Separation (330)   
� Reciprocal Support (350)     
� Domestic Violence (360) 
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Instructions for Completing 
the Summons Form 

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and

telephone number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address.

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name.

• In both spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name.

• Leave the rest of the form blank.
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

______________________________________ Case No. _________________ 
       Petitioner 

and SUMMONS 
______________________________________ (Family Law) 

Respondent 

WARNING.  THIS IS AN OFFICIAL DOCUMENT FROM THE COURT THAT AFFECTS YOUR RIGHTS. 
READ THIS SUMMONS CAREFULLY.  IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND IT, CONTACT AN 
ATTORNEY FOR LEGAL ADVICE. 

FROM THE STATE OF ARIZONA TO _____________________________________. 
(Name of Respondent above) 

1. A lawsuit has been filed against you. A copy of the lawsuit and other related court paperwork is
served on you with this Summons.

2. If you do not want a judgment taken against you without your input, you must file a Response in
writing with the court, and you must pay the required filing fee.  To file your Response, take or
send the papers to: Office of the Clerk of the Superior Court, (110 West Congress, Tucson,
Arizona 85701).  Mail a copy of the Response to your spouse, the Petitioner, at the address
listed on the top of this Summons.

3. If this Summons and the other court papers were served on you within the State of Arizona, your
Response must be filed within TWENTY (20) CALENDAR DAYS from the date of the service, not
counting the day of service.  If the papers were served on you outside the State of Arizona, your
Response must be filed within THIRTY (30) CALENDAR DAYS, not counting the day of service.

4. Requests for reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities must be made to the court
by parties at least 3 working days in advance of a scheduled court proceeding.

5. Either spouse, or both spouses, may file in the conciliation court a petition invoking the jurisdiction
of the court for the purpose of preserving the marriage by effecting conciliation between the
parties.

GIVEN under my hand and the Seal of the Superior Court of the State of Arizona in and for the
County of Pima this _____ day of _______________, 20_____.

CLERK OF THE SUPERIOR COURT 
By____________________________ 

 Deputy Clerk 
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Instructions for Completing 
the Preliminary Injunction 

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and

telephone number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address.

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name.

• In the space that says “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name.

• Leave the rest of the form blank.

It is important that you read this form carefully because you will be required to 

follow these orders after you file the Petition.  Among other things, this injunction 

forbids you and your spouse from taking certain actions affecting your joint 

property. 
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY
______________________________________ Case No. _________________ 

Petitioner/Plaintiff 

and PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION 
FROM THE COURT AGAINST 

______________________________________ BOTH PETITIONER AND 
Respondent/Defendant RESPONDENT 

WARNING TO PETITIONER AND RESPONDENT:  THIS IS AN OFFICIAL ORDER FROM THE 
COURT.  IT AFFECTS YOUR RIGHTS.  READ THIS ORDER IMMEDIATELY AND CAREFULLY.  IF 
YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND IT, CONTACT AN ATTORNEY FOR LEGAL ADVICE. 

A Petition for Dissolution (Divorce) has been filed with the court by your spouse.  As a result, this Order is 
made at the direction of the Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of Arizona, Pima County, under the 
authority of Arizona Law, A.R.S. § 25-315(A).  This Order has the same force and effect as an Order 
personally signed by the Judge.  You and your spouse are required to follow this Order.  It may be 
enforced by any remedy available under the law, including an order of CONTEMPT OF COURT. 

1. ACTIONS BY YOU OR YOUR SPOUSE WHICH ARE FORBIDDEN BY THIS ORDER:  From
the time this Petition for Dissolution (Divorce) is filed with the court, until a Decree of Divorce is
entered, or until further Order of the court, both the PETITIONER AND THE RESPONDENT shall
not, by Order of this court, take any of the following forbidden actions:

NOTE:  THE LAW REQUIRES THAT THE EXACT LANGUAGE OF A.R.S. § 25-315(A) BE
INCLUDED IN THIS ORDER. FURTHER EXPLANATION OF THE REQUIREMENTS OF THIS
ORDER ARE INCLUDED HERE BEFORE THE ACTUAL STATUTE (LAW).  READ THE
EXPLANATION, WHICH IS FOLLOWED BY THE STATUTE ITSELF.  IF YOU HAVE FURTHER
QUESTIONS YOU SHOULD CONTACT AN ATTORNEY FOR LEGAL ADVICE.

a. RESTRICTIONS ON YOUR JOINT PROPERTY:  This Order recognizes that since you and
your spouse both may have an interest in property acquired or paid for during the marriage,
you may not hide earnings or property from your spouse; you may not take out a loan on any
of this property; you may not sell it or give it away to someone else, UNLESS you have the
written permission of your spouse or permission in writing from the court. The law does
recognize that there may be situations where joint or community property may need to be
transferred as part of the everyday running of a business, or that occasionally the sale of
community property is necessary to meet necessities of life, such as food, shelter, clothing or
court fees and reasonable attorney fees associated with this action

b. RESTRICTIONS ON YOUR BEHAVIOR:  The Order is designed to protect you from actions
by your spouse which may be disruptive, or physically or emotionally harmful.  While Divorce
can be a difficult process, it does not give either spouse the right to either harass or bother
the other spouse.  The court does not tolerate physical abuse or threats in any form.

c. RESTRICTIONS ABOUT INSURANCE:  Do not remove or cause to be removed the other
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party from any existing insurance coverage, including medical, hospital, dental, automobile 
and disability insurance.  Both parties shall maintain all insurance coverage in full force and 
effect.  

Arizona Law, A.R.S. § 25-315(A) specifically provides as follows: 

1. The preliminary injunction shall be directed to each party of the action and contain the following
orders: 

a. That both parties are enjoined from transferring, encumbering, concealing, selling or
otherwise disposing of any of the joint, common or community property of the parties
except if related to the usual course of business, the necessities of life, or court fees and
reasonable attorney fees associated with an action filed under this article, without the
written consent of the parties or the permission of the court.

b. That both parties are enjoined from molesting, harassing, disturbing the peace or
committing an assault or battery on the person of the other party.

c. That both parties are enjoined from removing or causing to be removed the other party
from any existing insurance coverage, including medical, hospital, dental, automobile and
disability insurance.  That both parties shall maintain all insurance coverage in full force
and effect.

2. EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS ORDER:  This Order is effective against the person who filed for
divorce (the Petitioner) when the Petition was filed with the court.  It is effective against the other
party (the Respondent) when it is served according to law.  If service is made upon the
Respondent by registered mail according to the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, the Order is
effective upon receipt of the Order by the Respondent.  This Order shall remain in effect until
further order of the court, or the entry of a Decree of Dissolution, Legal Separation, or Annulment
is filed or the action is dismissed.

3. ADDITIONAL ORDER TO PETITIONER:  You must serve a copy of this Order upon the
Respondent with the copy of the Petition for Dissolution or Legal Separation and the Summons
and other required court papers.

WARNING 

THIS IS AN OFFICIAL COURT ORDER.  IF YOU DISOBEY THIS ORDER, THE COURT MAY FIND 
YOU IN CONTEMPT OF COURT.  YOU MAY ALSO BE ARRESTED AND PROSECUTED FOR THE 
CRIME OF INTERFERING WITH JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS AND ANY OTHER CRIME YOU MAY 
HAVE COMMITTED IN DISOBEYING THIS ORDER.   

YOU OR YOUR SPOUSE MAY FILE A CERTIFIED COPY OF THIS ORDER WITH YOUR LOCAL LAW 
ENFORCEMENT AGENCY.  A CERTIFIED COPY MAY BE OBTAINED FROM THE CLERK OF THE 
COURT WHICH ISSUED THIS ORDER.  IF YOU ARE THE PERSON THAT BROUGHT THIS ACTION, 
YOU MUST ALSO FILE EVIDENCE WITH THE LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY THAT THIS ORDER 
WAS SERVED ON YOUR SPOUSE. 

THIS COURT ORDER IS EFFECTIVE UNTIL A FINAL DECREE OF DISSOLUTION OR OF LEGAL 
SEPARATION IS FILED OR THE ACTION IS DISMISSED. 

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND THE SEAL OF THE COURT this ____ day of _____________ 20_____. 

Clerk of the Superior Court 

By:____________________________________
     Deputy Clerk 
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Instructions for Completing 
the Petition for the 

Dissolution of Marriage 
(Divorce) Without Minor 

Children

Use this form ONLY if you are getting a divorce and there are NO children involved! 

Make sure your form is titled PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE 

(DIVORCE) WITHOUT MINOR CHILDREN. 

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and

telephone number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address.

o If you are a victim of domestic violence or are in a domestic violence shelter, you

may be able to request a protected, valid mailing address for your divorce

papers. See the information about victims of domestic violence at the beginning

of this packet.

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name.

• In both spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name.

STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT UNDER OATH OR AFFIRMATION:  

The information in sections 1 through 5 will give the court basic information about you, your 

spouse, and your marriage. 

1. ABOUT ME, THE PETITIONOR

This is basic information about you, the Petitioner. 

• Fill in your name, address, date of birth, occupation, and how long you have lived in

Arizona.

2. ABOUT MY SPOUSE, THE RESPONDENT

This is basic information about your spouse, the Respondent. 

• Fill in your spouse’s name, address, date of birth, occupation, and how long your spouse

has lived in Arizona.
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3. ABOUT OUR MARRIAGE

This is general information about your marriage. 

• Fill in the date you were married, and the City and State where you were married.

• If you were married outside the United States, list the country where you were married.

4. 90-DAY REQUIREMENT

This tells the court that either you OR your spouse has lived in Arizona or been stationed 

here while in the Armed Forces, for at least 90 days.   

• Check one of the boxes.

o If you or your spouse has not lived in Arizona for at least 90 days,

you may not file for a divorce in Arizona.

INFORMATION ABOUT PROPERTY AND DEBTS: 

Sections 5 through 8 tell the court about your property and debts and how you think they should 

be divided.    

Community property is any property you and your spouse bought or earned during 

your marriage. It doesn’t matter who uses the property or who actually paid the money. 

Both you and your spouse have a right to about an equal share of community property.   

Community debts belong to both spouses. It doesn’t matter who spent the money or 

whose name is on the debt as long as it was created during the marriage. Community 

debts should also be divided in half.  

Separate property is property that either spouse owned before the marriage or received 

during the marriage by gift or inheritance. Separate property is not divided during the 

divorce.  

Separate debts are debts that either spouse had before the marriage or that happened 

after the divorce petition was served.  

If you have questions, or you have a lot of community property and/or debts, 

you should consult a lawyer before you file your Petition. 

5. COMMUNITY PROPERTY (PROPERTY ACQUIRED DURING THE MARRIAGE)

This tells the court if you and your spouse have any community property. 

• If you DO NOT have any community property, mark the first box and go to #7 Separate

Property (Property Acquired Before the Marriage).

• If you DO have community property, mark the second box.
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6. DESCRIPTION AND VALUE OF THE PROPERTY

Now you need to tell the court what property should go to you and what property should go 

to your spouse. The court will try to give both spouses about the same amount, unless there 

are good reasons not to divide it equally. Think carefully about what you think would be a 

fair division. 

• If you already split the property before the divorce was filed, check “Property in each

party’s possession” and check both Petitioner (you) and Respondent (your spouse). You

may want to list the property anyway, to be on the safe side.

o If you don’t list the property, you can move to #7 Separate Property (Property

Acquired Before the Marriage).

• If you did not already split the property, list the specific items of property, about how

much they are worth, and who should get them—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent

(your spouse). Be as clear and detailed as possible.  You can use the brand name and

model.

Real Estate (property or home) 

• Write the complete address of the property. Include the legal description of the

property, such as “LOT 77, PINE TREE ACRES, according to Book 111 of Maps,

etc.” You can find this information on your deed papers.

• Check who should receive it— the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse).

You can ask the court to order it to be sold, with the profit divided between

spouses.

o Cemetery plots are considered real estate.

o Mobile homes are considered real estate IF you own the land where the

mobile home is sitting and the mobile home is permanently attached on

that land. If not, a mobile home is a vehicle.

Household furniture and appliances 

This includes sofas, beds, tables, refrigerators, etc. 

o Be as clear and detailed as possible and check who should receive it—the

Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse).
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Household furnishings 

This generally includes things in the house that are not furniture, such as dishes, small 

appliances, rugs, etc.  

• Be as clear and detailed as possible and check who should receive it—the

Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse).

Other (explain) 

o List any items that have not already been included. Be as clear and detailed as

possible and check who should receive it—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your

spouse).

Retirement Funds: Profit Sharing/Stock Plan/401K, IRA  

You and your spouse each usually have a right to a share of any spouse’s plan. How 

much depends on how long you were married and how long the pension or retirement 

plan was in effect.  If you have been together the whole period of the plan, you could 

receive up to half of the plan.  

• Mark this box if you want the court to divide either your or your spouse’s

retirement or profit sharing/retirement/401K plan and check who should receive

what—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse).

 If you mark this box, you should see an attorney about a document called

a Qualified Domestic Relations Order or QDRO.  This form is very

complicated and difficult to file on your own.  It almost always requires the

help of a lawyer.

 If you are not sure whether you or your spouse has a retirement plan,

consult a lawyer.

Motor vehicles 

• List the vehicle identification number, the year and make of the car (Ford, Chevrolet)

and the model (Mustang, Camaro), etc.

• List any lien holders who are on the title to the vehicle.  A lien holder is usually the

finance company who loaned you the money to buy the vehicle.

• Remember, mobile homes NOT permanently attached to land that you own are

considered vehicles.

• Check who should receive the motor vehicle(s)—the Petitioner (you) or

Respondent (your spouse).
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7. SEPARATE PROPERTY (Property Acquired Before The Marriage)

• If neither you nor your spouse brought any property into the marriage and did not

receive any gifts or inheritances during the marriage, mark the first box and go to #8

Community Debts (Debts Incurred During the Marriage).

• If you and your spouse have property that either of you brought into the marriage, or

if you or your spouse received any gifts or inheritances during the marriage, mark the

second box, and list each item and who should get each item—the Petitioner (you) or

Respondent (your spouse).

8. COMMUNITY DEBTS (Debts Created During The Marriage)

• If neither you nor your spouse owe money or have any debts from the marriage,

mark the first box and go to #9 Separate Debts (Debts Created Before the Marriage).

• If you did acquire some debts, mark the second box.

o Tell the court what the debts are and who should pay them—the Petitioner

(you) or Respondent (your spouse). Be sure to enter enough information to

be clear about each specific debt.

• The court will require a fair split of the debts.

• If you get the property that money is owed on, you probably will also receive the

debt.

• It is unusual for the court to order one person to pay all the debts.

• Think carefully about what is a fair split.

Keep in mind that the Divorce Decree will order the debts to be split, but this order 

is NOT binding on the creditors. For example, if a community debt for a specific 

credit card was awarded to your spouse, and the spouse does not pay the debt, 

the creditor can still come after you for payment.  You would then have to take your 

spouse back to court to enforce the decree.  For more information, please see the 

Creditor Notification Form which is included in this packet.      

9. SEPARATE DEBTS (DEBTS INCURRED BEFORE THE MARRIAGE)

• If neither you nor your spouse has separate debts from before you were married (or

any debts incurred while you have been separated), mark the first box and go on to

#10 Tax Returns.

• If you do have separate debts, mark the second box, list the debts and check who

should pay them—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). Be as clear and

detailed as possible.
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10. TAX RETURNS

• Mark the first box if this is how you want to handle income tax refunds.

• Check the “Other” box, if you want a different arrangement. Describe the tax

arrangement you want the court to order.

11. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY)

• Spousal maintenance, which used to be known as alimony, is money one spouse

pays to the other to provide necessary support.

• Spousal maintenance is usually only for a specific period of time.

• Spousal maintenance is paid separate from child support and is NOT a substitute for

or supplement to child support.

• The person who receives spousal maintenance will have to pay income tax on it.

Spousal maintenance is tax deductible for the person who pays it.

o If you think that neither spouse should receive spousal maintenance, mark the

first box and go to the next section.

o If any of the items listed apply to you or your spouse, mark the box for either the

Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). Mark all other boxes that apply.

12. PREGNANCY

• If the wife is not pregnant, check the first box and go to #13.

• If the wife IS pregnant, and the Respondent and Petitioner are the

parents, you should STOP using this form. Instead, you should be

using Packet #2, Divorce with Children Petition to file for divorce.

13. OTHER STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT UNDER OATH

Each of these statements must be true at the time you file for the divorce. 

If any of these statements is NOT true, you cannot file for a divorce.  

One of the spouses must believe that the marriage is “irretrievably broken,” which means 

that there is no way the marriage can be fixed and that there is no way you will get back 

together.  If you believe your marriage is not irretrievably broken, please see Packet #16, 

Conciliation to request free marriage counseling through the Conciliation Court.   

• Check any of the statements that you believe are true.
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REQUESTS I MAKE TO THE COURT: 

In this section, you are telling the court what you want ordered in the final decree. 

1. DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE)

This is your request to end your marriage by a Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce). 

2. NAMES

If you want to be legally known by a maiden or former name, mark the correct box. 

• Write in the new last name on the space provided.

• You may not require your spouse to be known by another name without your

spouse’s consent.

3. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY)

• If neither party is requesting spousal maintenance, mark the first box and go to #4

Community Property.

• If you are asking the court to order one spouse to pay spousal maintenance to the

other spouse, mark the correct boxes and write in the amount of spousal

maintenance and for how long it should be paid.

o You may request that Spousal Maintenance be processed through a separate

agency called The Support Payment Clearing House by checking the

appropriate box.

4. COMMUNITY PROPERTY

This asks the court to order the division of property that you requested in this Petition. 

5. COMMUNITY DEBTS

This asks the court to order the division of debt that you requested in this Petition. 

If you or your spouse has acquired additional debts since you separated, and you want 

those debts to be considered separate and not community debts, write in the date of 

separation. Otherwise, the court will use the date of service of the Petition to determine the 

date community debt ended.   

6. SEPARATE PROPERTY

This asks the court to order you and your spouse to keep the separate property you each 

owned before you were married or received during the marriage by gift or inheritance, as 

described in this Petition. 
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7. SEPARATE DEBTS

This asks the court to order you and your spouse each to be responsible for debts that each 

of you had from before the marriage, as described in this Petition.  

8. OTHER ORDERS THAT I AM REQUESTING

This is where you tell the court anything else you may want ordered in your Divorce that has 

not been covered already in your Petition.   

• If there are none, write "None."

OATH AND VERIFICATION OF PETITIONER: 

Sign this form in front of a notary. By doing so you are telling the court that everything in the 

Petition for Dissolution is true.  Generally, you should sign all papers that you are filing at the 

Superior Court Clerk’s Office. The Clerk will notarize the papers. 

Now you need to read the Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance and the Creditor 

Notification Form and complete the Affidavit Re: Minor Children and the Confidential Sensitive 

Data Form. 

Also, if applicable, fill out the Order and Request for a Protected Address located at the end 

of this packet.   
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

______________________________________ Case No. ________________ 
Petitioner/Plaintiff 

and PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION 
______________________________________ OF MARRIAGE (DIVORCE) 

Respondent/Defendant WITHOUT CHILDREN 

STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT, UNDER OATH 

1. ABOUT ME, THE PETITIONER
Name: __________________________________________________
Address: ________________________________________________
Date of Birth: __________________________
Occupation: ___________________________
Length of time I have lived in this state: _______________________

2. ABOUT, MY SPOUSE, THE RESPONDENT
Name:  ________________________________________________
Address: _______________________________________________
Date of Birth: __________________________
Occupation: ___________________________
Length of time my spouse has lived in this state: _______________________

3. ABOUT OUR MARRIAGE
Date of Marriage: ________________________
City and state or country where we were married: _____________________________

4. 90-DAY REQUIREMENT
� Either I and/or � my spouse, has lived or been stationed, while a member of the Armed Forces,
in Arizona for at least 90 days before I filed this petition.  (WARNING TO PETITIONER: IF THIS
STATEMENT IS NOT TRUE, YOU CANNOT FILE FOR DISSOLUTION UNTIL IT BECOMES
TRUE).

5. COMMUNITY PROPERTY (PROPERTY ACQUIRED DURING THE MARRIAGE)-check one box
� My spouse and I did not acquire any community property during the marriage. 
� My spouse and I did acquire community property during our marriage, and it should be 

divided as follows: 
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6. DESCRIPTION AND VALUE OF THE PROPERTY  PETITIONER RESPONDENT 
� Property in each party’s possession � �  
� Real estate at: � � 

Legal Description:   _____________________________ 
_____________________________________________ 

� Real estate at: � � 
Legal Description:   _____________________________ 
_____________________________________________ 

� Household furniture and appliances: � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 

� Household furnishings: 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 

� Other items: 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 

� Pension/Retirement Fund/Profit Sharing/Stock Plan/401K: 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 
 � � 

� Motor vehicles: 
Make: Model:  � � 
VIN: Lien Holder:
Make: Model:  � �  
VIN: Lien Holder:

Updated June 2015



7. SEPARATE PROPERTY   (PROPERTY ACQUIRED BEFORE THE MARRIAGE)-check one box
� My spouse and I do not have any property either of us brought into the marriage. 
� My spouse and I do have property that either of us brought into the marriage and it 

should be awarded as follows: 

DESCRIPTION AND VALUE OF THE PROPERTY          PETITIONER RESPONDENT 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 

8. COMMUNITY DEBTS (DEBTS INCURRED DURING THE MARRIAGE)-check one box
� My spouse and I did not incur any community debts during the marriage. 
� My spouse and I did incur community debts during the marriage and responsibility for 

these debts should be divided as follows: 
DESCRIPTION AND VALUE OF THE PROPERTY          PETITIONER RESPONDENT 
___________________________________________________ � � 

� � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 

9. SEPARATE DEBTS (DEBTS INCURRED BEFORE THE MARRIAGE)-check one box
� My spouse and I do not have any debts that were incurred before the marriage. 
� My spouse and I do have separate debts that were incurred before the marriage and the 

responsibility for these debts should be divided as follows: 
DESCRIPTION AND VALUE OF THE PROPERTY          PETITIONER RESPONDENT 
___________________________________________________ � � 

� � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
___________________________________________________ � � 

 � � 
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10. TAX RETURNS - check one box
� After the Judicial Officer signs the Decree of Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce), 
my spouse and I will pay federal and state taxes as follows: the years we were married 
but not including the year the Decree is signed, my spouse and I will file joint federal and 
state income tax returns.   For these years before the Decree, my spouse and I will also 
pay and hold the other harmless from ½ of all additional income taxes, if any, and all 
other costs, and share equally in any refunds.  For the calendar year that the Decree was 
signed and all future years, each party will file separate federal and state income tax 
returns and each will give the other party all necessary documentation to do so. 

�  Other - describe any other tax arrangements you wish the court to award. 

_______________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________  

11. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY) - check the box that applies to you
� Neither party is entitled to spousal maintenance (also known as alimony). 
� Petitioner     or     � Respondent is entitled to spousal maintenance because (you must 

check the boxes below that apply.) 
� Person lacks sufficient property to provide for his or her reasonable needs  
� Person is unable to support himself or herself through appropriate employment 
� Person is the custodian of a child or children whose age or condition is such that 

person should not be required to seek employment outside the home  
� Person lacks earning ability in the labor market adequate to support himself or 

herself 
� Person contributed to the educational opportunities of the other spouse 
� Person had a marriage of long duration and is now of an age that precludes the 

possibility of gaining employment adequate to support himself or herself 

12. PREGNANCY
� Wife is not pregnant or 
� Wife is pregnant 

13. OTHER STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT UNDER OATH   - To obtain a divorce, you must
be able to tell the court that each of the following statements are true.  (If any of the following
statements are not true you cannot file for divorce until all the statements are true.)
� TRUE my marriage is irretrievably broken and there is no reasonable prospect of 

reconciliation. 
� TRUE my marriage is not a covenant marriage.  
� TRUE the conciliation requirements under Arizona law either do not apply or have been 

met. 

REQUESTS I MAKE TO THE COURT 

1. DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE):  Dissolve the marriage and return each party to the status of a
single person.
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2. NAMES: Restore � wife  �  husband
to her or his former name of  _________________________________.
Note: If you are not the person who is requesting to have your former name restored, the court
must have a written request from the party who wants his or her name restored.

3. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (also known as ALIMONY):
� Neither party is entitled to spousal maintenance. 
� Petitioner shall be ordered to pay spousal maintenance to Respondent in the amount of 

$ ____________ per month beginning per section � A or per section � B below. 
� Respondent shall be ordered to pay spousal maintenance to Petitioner in the amount of 

$ ____________ per month beginning (check the appropriate box below). 

A. the first day of the month after the Judge or Commissioner signs the Decree of 
Dissolution of Marriage, or 

B. the first day of the month following the service of the Petition for Dissolution of 
Marriage, and continuing until the person receiving the spousal maintenance is 
remarried or deceased, or for _________ months, whichever occurs first. 

� Payments are to be made directly to the person receiving the spousal 
maintenance. 

� Payments, plus the statutory handling fee, to be paid through The Support 
Payment Clearinghouse, PO Box 52107, Phoenix, Arizona 85072-7107. 

4. COMMUNITY PROPERTY:  Make a fair division of all community property as requested above in
this Petition.

5. COMMUNITY DEBTS:  Order each party to pay community debts as requested above in this
Petition, and to pay any other community debts unknown to the other party.  Order each party to
pay and hold the other party harmless from debts incurred by him or her since the parties
separated on _______/_________/_______.

(Enter date above)

6. SEPARATE PROPERTY:  Award each party his or her separate property as requested above in
this Petition.

7. SEPARATE DEBTS: Order each party to pay his or her separate debts as requested above in
this Petition.

8. OTHER ORDERS THAT I AM REQUESTING: (explain request here)

[Petition for Dissolution of Marriage, Without Children] 
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OATH AND VERIFICATION OF PETITIONER: 

STATE OF ARIZONA ) 
) ss. 

County of Pima )    

I, _____________________________, the Petitioner, being duly sworn and under oath, state that I have 
read this Petition.  All the statements in the Petition are true, correct and complete to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. 

___________________________________________
Petitioner’s signature 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this  day of , 20___________by 
. 

(Petitioner’s Name) 

______________________________________ 
 Notary Public 

My Commission Expires: 

____________________ 
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NOTICE OF YOUR RIGHTS ABOUT HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE 

WHEN A PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE) IS FILED 
(A.R.S. §§ 20-1377 and 20-1408)

WARNING:  THIS IS AN IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE.  YOUR RIGHTS TO HEALTH INSURANCE 
COVERAGE COULD BE AFFECTED AFTER YOUR DIVORCE IS FINAL.  READ THIS NOTICE 
CAREFULLY.  IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND THIS NOTICE, YOU SHOULD CALL AN ATTORNEY 
FOR ADVICE ABOUT YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS. 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION IF YOU ARE ON YOUR SPOUSE'S INSURANCE PLAN: 
When a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (papers for a divorce decree) is filed, you 
may continue to be covered under your spouse's health insurance policy.  Arizona law 
allows the dependent spouse to continue to be covered, but you must take some steps 
to protect your rights.   

WHAT INSURANCE COVERAGE APPLIES TO YOU, AND HOW TO GET IT:  If you are covered by your 
spouse's health insurance, and you want to continue to be covered after the divorce is final, you must 
contact the insurance company as soon as possible, and you must start to pay the monthly insurance 
premium within 31 days of the date the insurance would otherwise stop.   

If you decide you want to be covered, the insurer can choose whether to continue coverage under the 
current policy, or to change the policy to your name.  If the policy is changed to your name, it is called a 
"converted" policy.  If the policy is converted by the insurer, the insurer must provide to you the same or 
the most similar level of coverage available, unless you ask for a lower level of coverage.   

PREEXISTING CONDITIONS OR EXCLUSIONS FROM INSURANCE COVERAGE:  Whether the 
insurance is continued or converted, the insurance must be provided to you without proof of insurability 
and without exclusions for coverage other than what was previously excluded before the insurance was 
continued or converted. 

LIMITS ON RIGHTS TO INSURANCE COVERAGE: You may not be entitled to continued or converted 
coverage if you are eligible for Medicare or for coverage by other similar types of insurance which 
together with the continued coverage would make you over insured.  If you have questions about 
coverage, check with the insurer and/or the spouse's employer. 

WARNING TO THE SPOUSE FILING THE PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE):  This Notice 
must be served on your spouse together with the Petition for Dissolution, the Summons, and the 
Preliminary Injunction. 

Form approved by State of Arizona 
Department of Insurance 
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NOTICE TO CREDITORS 
In your property settlement agreement or decree of dissolution or legal separation, the court may assign 
responsibility for certain community debts to one spouse or the other.  Please be aware that a court order 
that does this is binding on the spouses only and does not necessarily relieve either of you from your 
responsibility for these community debts.  These debts are matters of a contract between both of you and 
your creditors (such as banks, credit unions, credit card issuers, finance companies, utility companies, 
medical providers and retailers). 

Since your creditors are not parties to this court case, they are not bound by court orders or any 
agreements you and your spouse reach in this case.  On request, the court may impose a lien against the 
separate property of a spouse to secure payment of debts that the court orders the spouse to pay. 

You may want to contact your creditors to discuss your debts as well as the possible 
effects of your court case on your debts.  To assist you in identifying your creditors, you 
may obtain a copy of your spouse’s credit report by making a written request to the 
court for an order requiring a credit reporting agency to release the report to you.  Within 
thirty days after receipt of a request from a spouse who is party to a dissolution of 
marriage or legal separation action, which includes the court and case number of the 
action, creditors are required by law to provide information as to the balance and 
account status of any debts for which the requesting spouse may be liable to the 
creditor.  You may wish to use the following form, or one that is similar to contact your 
creditors. 

************************************************************************************************************************ 
Creditor Notification 

Date: ___________________ 

Creditor Name: 
________________________________________________________________________________ 

Creditor Address: 
______________________________________________________________________________ 

Account #: _____________________________ 

Within thirty days after receipt of this notice, you are requested to provide the balance and account status 
of any debt identified by account number for which the requesting party may be liable to you. 

Name: 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature: 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Instructions for Completing 
the Confidential 

Sensitive Data Form 

About the Confidential Sensitive Data Form: 

The Divorce Petition and Response are public documents. This means the 

public can see them in person or electronically.  

The Confidential Sensitive Data Form is not made available to the public. 

Sensitive data includes: 

• Social security number

• Bank account numbers

• Credit card numbers

• Other financial account numbers

Use the Confidential Sensitive Data Form to provide sensitive data. This form will not be 

available to the public.  

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and

telephone number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address.

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name.

• In the spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name.

• Provide all other information pertaining to you and your spouse, to the best of your

ability.
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

______________________________________ Case No. _________________ 
Petitioner 

and CONFIDENTIAL
_____________________________________ SENSITIVE DATA FORM 

Respondent 
FILED BY:  � Petitioner   or   � Respondent 

A. Personal Information: 
Name Date of Birth Social Security # 
Petitioner:  _________________________________ ______________     ______________ 
Respondent:  _______________________________ ______________      ______________ 
Child: _____________________________________ ______________    ______________ 
Child: _____________________________________ ______________    ______________ 
Child: _____________________________________ ______________    ______________ 

B. Financial account numbers (including credit cards, financial institution accounts, investments, 
debts): 

Financial Institution Type of Account  Name(s) on Account  Account # 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 

C. Pension and retirement accounts (including IRAs, 401ks): 
Financial Institution Type of Account  Name(s) on Account  Account # 

________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 

D. Life insurance policies: 
Insurance Company Type of Policy  Name on Policy  Policy # 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
________________________   __________________   ___________________   __________________ 
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Instructions for 
Completing the Affidavit 

Re: Minor Children

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and

telephone number unless, you are requesting a Protected Address.

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name.

• In both spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name.

This form is required. If you and your spouse do not have minor children, you must 

still tell the court. 

1. Check "Dissolution."

2. Check whether the wife is presently pregnant.

3. Check whether there are minor children of either or both parents who are in the custody of

either or both parents. If there are no minor children, fill out #s 1-3, but leave #s 4-9 blank.

The form must be filed with the court whether there are children or not. If there are minor

children, you should have completed Packet # 2, Divorce With Children Petition.

4. Check whether there were prior cases involving Legal Decision-Making or Parenting Time

for minor children in this or any other state. If there were other cases, mark the first box and

give as much information as possible.

5. Check whether there are any pending cases involving Legal Decision-Making or Parenting

Time for minor children in this or any other state. If there are other cases, mark the first box

and give as much information as possible.

6. Check whether you know of another person or agency (such as the Department of Child

Safety), other than your spouse, who has or claims to have Legal Decision-Making or

Parenting Time, or other legal authority, over any of the children. If you know of such a

person or agency, mark the first box and put the information here, including the child's name

and the person or agency who claims to have these rights.

7. List the mother’s last known mailing address.
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8. List the father’s last known mailing address.

9a. List each child's name, birth date, and birthplace. Write “N/A” if there are none. 

9b. List where the children from your marriage have been living for the past 5 years; if any 

children are under age 5, simply include information since their birth. 

• List the dates of the child’s residence, the address where the child resided, the name

and present address of the person with whom the child resided during that period,

and the relation of that person to the child.

• Write “N/A” if there are no children.

Sign this document before the Clerk of the Court or a Notary Public and check the box labeled 

“Petitioner.” 
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Name: ___________________________________ 
Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 
______________________________________ Case No. _________________ 

Petitioner/Plaintiff 

and AFFIDAVIT RE:
______________________________________ MINOR CHILDREN 

Respondent/Defendant 

STATE OF ARIZONA ) 
) ss. 

County of Pima  ) 

1. The nature of this action is: (only check one)

� Dissolution � Legal Separation � Paternity
� Annulment � Child(ren) Legal Decision-Making Modification

2. The mother  � is  or  � is not pregnant.

3. There � are   or   � are not minor children of either or both of the parties in this case who are in
the custody of either or both of the parties.

4. I  � have  or  � have not  participated as a party, witness, or in any other capacity in any other
prior litigation concerning custody of a child mentioned below, in this or any other state.  (If you
have, state the name of each child, the manner in which you participated, the court, the state &
county or district, case number, and date of order or judgment, if any.)

___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________ 

5. I � do  or  � do not  have any information of any custody proceeding concerning a child
mentioned below pending in a court of this or any other state. (If you do, state the name of each
child, nature of the proceeding, the court, the state & county or district, case number, and the
status of the proceeding.)

________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
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6. I  � do  or  � do not  know of any person not a party to this proceeding who has physical custody
or claims to have custody or visitation rights with respect to any child mentioned below.  (If you do
have such knowledge, state the name and address of the person, whether that person has
physical custody, is claiming custody rights, or is claiming visitation rights, and the name of the
child involved.)

________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________ 

7. Mother's mailing address is:
_______________________________________________________________

8. Father's mailing address is:
_______________________________________________________________

9. a)  The minor child(ren) affected by this action are:

NAME   BIRTHDATE   BIRTHPLACE   
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________ 

b) All the children have resided together at the following locations during the last five years:

NAME AND PRESENT  
ADDRESS OF PERSON 

DATES OF  ADDRESS OF CHILD              HAVING PHYSICAL CUSTODY  RELATION 
RESIDENCE  DURING PERIOD                    DURING RESIDENCE PERIOD  TO CHILD 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
NOTE:  If any of the children have lived separately, give specific information for that 
child on an additional page. 

________________________________________ 
� Petitioner’s   or   � Respondent’s signature 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this _____ day     , 20 ____ 
by ___________________________________________________. 

________________________________________ 
Notary Public  My Commission Expires: _____________________
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Checklist and Instructions for 
Filing the Petition and 
Serving Your Spouse 

1. Make copies of the following completed documents:

You will need the original plus two copies of the following documents:

 Summons

 Preliminary Injunction

 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage without Children

 Affidavit Re: Minor Children

You will need the original plus one copy of the following documents: 

 Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance  

 Domestic Relations Cover Sheet  

 Confidential Sensitive Data Form  

 Creditor’s Notification  

 Deferral/Waiver of Fees/Costs Form if applicable  

 Request and Order for Protected Address if applicable 

2. Separate the documents into 3 sets.

• Set 1 (Original Documents) goes to the Clerk of the Court

o Domestic Relations Cover Sheet

o Summons

o Preliminary Injunction

o Petition for Dissolution of Marriage

o Affidavit Re: Minor Children

o Confidential Sensitive Data Form

o Deferral/Waiver of Fees/Costs

o Request for Protected Address
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• Set 2 will go to your spouse

o Summons

o Preliminary Injunction

o Petition for Dissolution of Marriage

o Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance

o Affidavit Re: Minor Children

o Creditor Notification

• Set 3 is your set of copies

o Same as Set 2, plus the Confidential Sensitive Data Form, the Domestic

Relations Cover Sheet, the Deferral/Waiver of Fees/Costs Form, and Request for

Protected Address Form if applicable

3. File the papers at the court.

• Take your packet to the Clerk of the Superior Court
First Floor 
Superior Court Building 
110 West Congress 
Tucson, AZ 85701 
Open 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday (except legal holidays)  

• Arrive at the court at least one hour before it closes.

o There is a filing fee for all Petitions and there are Service Fees. If you qualify, you

may request a Deferral or Waiver of the filing fees at the time you file your papers

with the Clerk of the Court.  You must get a waiver or deferral approved BEFORE

you can file or serve the Petition.  See Packet #12, Deferral or Waiver of Fees or

Costs for more information.

• MAKE SURE YOU LEAVE WITH:

o Your set of copies

o Your spouse’s set of copies

o Your original summons

4. Serve the court papers on your spouse

• Use Packet #10, Service of Papers on the Other Party.
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Next Steps

1. Wait to see if your spouse responds to the petition.

• If you serve your spouse in Arizona, you must wait 21 days
• If you serve your spouse outside of Arizona, you must wait 31 days
• If you serve your spouse by Publication within Arizona, you must wait 51 days

2. If your spouse does not file a Response to your Petition through the court the divorce

can proceed as a Default.  A Default means that the court will order the reasonable and

lawful requests you asked for in your Petition.  Before your divorce can proceed as a

Default, you must file an application for Default. Forms and instructions are in Packet

#11 Obtaining a Default Decree.

If your spouse filed a response and you cannot reach an agreement, you will need to 

have a divorce trial. Forms and instruction are in Packet #14, Family Law Cases Trial 

Preparation.  If this is the case, you should seek the advice of a lawyer. 

3. Prepare and submit final paperwork for the judicial officer to sign. The final decree from

the court makes your divorce final.  The forms and instructions for the final decision are

in Packet #7, Divorce without Children Decree.

4. Mail a copy of your signed decree to your spouse within three judicial days.
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

______________________________________ Case No. _________________ 
Petitioner 

and REQUEST FOR 
______________________________________ PROTECTED ADDRESSS 

Respondent 
� Petitioner   or   � Respondent 

I reasonably believe that physical or emotional harm may result to me or my minor child(ren) if my 
address is not protected from disclosure, and I request that the court order that my address be protected 
from public disclosure, for the following reasons: 

� I have a valid Order of Protection against a party in this case issued by the following court (a copy is 
attached if available): 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 

� I have a valid Order of Protection against a party in this case issued by this court: 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 

� I have a valid Order of Protection against a person not involved in this case issued by the following 
court (a copy is attached if available): 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 

� I do not have a valid Order of Protection, but want my address protected for the following reasons: 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 

My address is currently unknown to the other party.  I have listed my address on a separate sheet of 
paper for court use. 

I understand that I have a continuing duty to provide the clerk of the court with a current and correct 
mailing address where I can be served with process until one of the following events stated in Rule 7(D), 
Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure, occurs. 

________________________ _______________________________________________ 
Date  � Petitioner’s   or   � Respondent’s Signature 
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[Request for Protected Address] 

PERSON WHOSE ADDRESS IS PROTECTED: 
_______________________________________________ 

� Petitioner   or   � Respondent 

ADDRESS TO BE PROTECTED: � Petitioner’s   or   � Respondent’s 

Street:  

_________________________________________________________________________ 

City: 

_________________________________________________________________________ 

State, Zip Code: 

_________________________________________________________________________ 

Telephone Number: 

_________________________________________________________________________
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

______________________________________ Case No. _________________ 
Petitioner 

and ORDER FOR
______________________________________ PROTECTED ADDRESS 

Respondent 
� Petitioner   or   � Respondent 

Upon request of � Petitioner   or   � Respondent, and good cause appearing, 

IT IS ORDERED that: 

The address of � Petitioner   or   � Respondent shall be protected from public disclosure until further 
order of this court. 

The Clerk of the Court shall protect the address of � Petitioner   or   � Respondent from public disclosure 
until further order of this court. 

The Clerk and the parties hereto shall comply with the requirements of Rule 7, Arizona Rules of Family 
Law Procedure, as follows: 

Any person required under these rules to serve a response or other document upon a person whose 
address is ordered protected from disclosure under this rule may serve the same by delivering true and 
correct copies of the documents to be served, together with the proper fee established by administrative 
order to cover the cost of service, to the clerk of the court.  The clerk shall promptly mail the documents 
by regular first-class to the most recent protected address provided to the clerk, and service shall be 
deemed complete upon mailing.  The clerk shall promptly file a written statement verifying the documents 
that were mailed and the date of mailing to the protected address signed by the clerk or deputy clerk who 
mailed the documents.  All documents mailed to a protected address shall bear the clerk’s return address, 
and a notation of any process returned as undeliverable shall be made in the court file. 

__________________ ______________________________________________________ 
Date  Judicial Officer 
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