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These forms must not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. 

The court is not responsible for (1) actions taken by the users of these forms or 

(2) users’ reliance upon the instructions or information provided.  
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General Information & 
Frequently Asked Questions

This packet contains court forms and instructions about serving documents on the other parent. 

After you have filled out and filed your Petition for Paternity (Packet # 18), you must “serve” the 

other party.  

What is Service of Process? 

Any time you file a legal document with the court, you must “serve” the other 

party (here, the other parent). This is so the other parent knows you are 

asking the court to decide paternity, legal decision-making, parenting time, or 

child support, and the other parent can choose to respond. Service of 

Process occurs when the other parent actually receives copies of the legal 

documents you filed. You can complete service by several methods that 

have specific rules (discussed below). You MUST provide proof of service to 

the court. Failure to provide proof will delay the court’s decision on paternity, 

legal decision-making, parenting time, or child support.      

The legal documents that must be served include a copy of the Petition and a copy of the 

Summons. (The Summons is included in Packet # 18. When you file, the clerk will sign and seal 

the Summons and return it to you.) If you filled out and filed any part of Packet #13 (Temporary 

Orders), you must also serve copies of that to the other parent. 

What happens after service is complete? 

After service, the other parent has a limited time to file a Response. If served in the state of 

Arizona, the other parent has 20 calendar days after service to respond. If served outside of 

Arizona, the other parent has 30 calendar days after service to respond. 

What is a Response? 

The other parent’s Response is a written document filed with the court that states that the other 

parent disagrees with all or part of your Petition. If the two of you cannot come to an agreement, 

you will need to attend mediation and may need to have a paternity trial. For more information 

about the Response, see Packet # 19. For more information about Mediation, see Packet # 15. 
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What if the other parent does not file a Response? 

If the other parent does not file a Response within the time limit, you can file an Application for 

Default. See Packet # 17, Paternity-General Information, and # 20, Paternity-Judgment, for 

more information about this process. 

Service is REQUIRED. The paternity process cannot move forward until 

you complete the steps below.  

You have 120 days from the date you file your Petition with the clerk to serve the other 

parent. If you do not serve the other parent within 120 days of filing, your case may be 

dismissed. 

What are acceptable ways to serve 
the Petition and Summons? 

Personal Service 

Personal Service means that a Sheriff, Constable, or a private process server gives copies of 

the legal documents to the other parent. Service may also be completed if the other parent 

signs an Acceptance of Service form. 

Be sure to remember the date that the other parent is served, because 

the time the other parent has to respond begins after this date (20 days if 

served inside Arizona, 30 days if served outside Arizona). 

A) Personal Service by a Sheriff or Constable

You may wish to attempt Service by Acceptance (see below) before using other service 

methods, unless it would be useless or dangerous for you to do so. 

Service by a Sheriff or Constable can take two to three weeks to complete. There is a fee for 

service by this method, but the court may defer or waive the fee. For additional information on 

waiver and deferral of fees and costs, see Packet # 12. 
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If you plan to complete Service of Process using this method, see Instructions for Service of 

Petition—Service by Sheriff/Constable, below. 

 

B) Personal Service by a Private Process Server 

Service by a Process Server involves a state-registered individual or company serving the 

papers on the other parent. This can take time to complete and there is usually a fee. Unlike the 

service fees for Sheriffs or Constables, the fees for private process servers cannot be waived. 

 

This method of service is particularly useful if the other party is avoiding service or lives outside 

the state of Arizona. You can locate private process servers by looking under “Process Server” 

in the Yellow Pages, or by doing an Internet search. 

 

If you plan to complete Service of Process using this method, see Instructions for Service of 

Petition—Service by Process Server, below. 

 

C) Acceptance of Service 

This is the easiest, quickest, and most common form of service. 

 

To use this method, you will give copies of the legal documents to the other parent, and the 

other parent will sign, date, and have notarized an Acceptance of Service form (included in 

this packet). This Acceptance of Service form tells the court that the other parent has agreed to 

accept the documents from you.  When the other parent signs this form, the other parent is NOT 

agreeing to the terms of your Petition. The signature only means that the other parent has 

received the documents.    

 

DO NOT USE this form of acceptance in domestic violence 

situations!  If you are a victim of domestic violence, DO NOT 

attempt to deliver the documents to the other party yourself.  If 

you believe the other parent will become violent or uncooperative 

when you tell him or her that you are filing a paternity case, use 

one of the other methods of service described in this packet. 
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You can give copies of the legal documents to the other parent in three ways: 

1. In person, as you file the documents with the clerk,

2. In person, in the presence of a notary, and

3. By mail, with the other parent sending the signed and notarized Acceptance of

Service form back to you. 

Service is not valid if the other parent does not sign the form in the presence of the clerk or 

other notary. 

If you plan to complete Service of Process using this method, see Instructions for Service of 

Petition—Acceptance of Service, below. 

Service by Mail 

“Service by Mail” is when you mail the Summons and Petition to the other parent, “Return 

Receipt Requested.” You must ask the post office for “Restricted Delivery” so that only the other 

parent (the person you address the envelope to) can sign the receipt.  If someone other than the 

other parent signs the receipt, Service of Process is NOT complete: the party being served 

MUST sign the receipt. 

This method is different from using the mail for Acceptance of Service, because Service by Mail 

requires a signed and returned receipt instead of the notarized Acceptance of Service form.   

If you use this method of service, you must file an Affidavit of Service by Mail (included in this 

packet). The Affidavit must include a copy of the green receipt of mail which will be returned to 

you after the other parent receives the papers.  

If you plan to complete Service of Process using this method, see Instructions for Service of 

Petition—Service by Mail, below.  

Service by Publication 

Service by Publication CANNOT be used for Paternity Petitions, child support issues, or any 

other issue which requires personal jurisdiction.  
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Alternative or Substituted Service 

If the other parent avoids service by a process server, Sheriff, or Constable, you may ask the 

court to use an alternative or substituted form of service.  If the court allows an alternative or 

substituted form of service, you must make reasonable efforts to make sure the other parent is 

notified that you filed a Petition. 

 

Alternative methods of service may include securely posting a copy of the Summons and 

Petition on the door of the other parent’s residence, or similar methods. All alternative methods 

must be approved in advance by the court for service to be valid. 

 

If you use an alternative method of service, you MUST also mail the papers to the other parent’s 

last known home or work address.  
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General Instructions for Completing this Packet 

You may type or write on the forms, but you must use black ink.

This packet contains the following forms that may be filled out and submitted to the court:  

 Request for Service by Sheriff or Constable (used for Service by Sheriff or

Constable)

 Acceptance of Service (used for Service by Acceptance—Personal Service)

 Form Letter (used for Service by Acceptance—Personal Service, by mail)

 Affidavit of Service by Mail (used for Service by Mail)

Please note that the forms you need to complete will depend on the method of service you 

choose.   

Each method of service has its own set of instructions.  Once you choose a method, make sure 

you follow each step carefully and completely.   

Remember, you have 120 days to serve the other parent from the date you file your Petition. 

If you do not serve the other parent within 120 days of filing, your case may be dismissed. 
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Instructions for Service of 
Petition—Service By Sheriff 

or Constable 

Notice: There is a fee for having a Sheriff or Constable serve the other parent. You may 

request a deferral or waiver of this fee at the time you file your Petition with the clerk of the 

court. See Packet # 12, Deferral or Waiver of Fees and Costs. 

STEP 1: GO TO THE SHERIFF’S OFFICE:  

Take the copies of the Petition and the original Summons with you. If the other parent lives in 

Pima County, the address is below. 

PIMA COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT 

Civil Process 

32 N. Stone Ave.  

16th Floor

Tucson, AZ 85701 

(520) 351-6000 

If the other parent lives in Arizona, but not in Pima County, you may mail the Petition and other 

papers to the Sheriff of that county. That county’s Sheriff’s Department will then serve the other 

parent. See the attached list of addresses for Arizona County Sheriff’s Civil Processing Units. 

If the other parent resides outside of Arizona, you may contact a Sheriff or other law 

enforcement agency where the other parent lives, and ask if it can serve the papers on the other 

parent. Each agency will have its own procedure for you to follow.  

STEP 2: FILL OUT THE REQUEST FORM (included below): 

Fill out the attached Request for Service by Sheriff or Constable form and provide it to 

the Sheriff or Constable (either in person or by mail). Also provide:  

o Original Summons

o The copies of the papers for the Sheriff or Constable to give to the other parent

o Personal check, cashier's check, money order, or debit card to pay the service fees OR 
a certified order deferring or waiving the fees OR a certified order deferring or waiving 
the fees

It may also be helpful to provide a photograph of the other parent and a photograph or written 

description of the automobile the other parent drives. 
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STEP 3: WAIT: 

It may take the Sheriff or Constable two to three weeks to serve the other parent. 

The Sheriff or Constable will mail you a copy of a completed Return of Service form proving that 

the other parent was served. The Sheriff or Constable will also return the original Summons to 

you. You must then file the Affidavit of Service and the original Summons with the clerk of the 

court.  (In Pima County, the Sheriff or Constable may file these documents instead of sending 

them back to you.) 

Be sure to remember the date the other parent was served by the Sheriff or Constable, as 

indicated on the Return of Service form. This date is the day of service, and the other parent 

has 20 days if served inside the state of Arizona, or 30 days if served outside the state, to 

respond to your Petition. 
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ARIZONA SHERIFF’S CIVIL PROCESS UNITS 

Apache County Sheriff's Department Maricopa County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process Civil Process 
P. O. Box 518 102 W. Madison 
St. John's, AZ 85936 Phoenix, AZ 85003 
(520) 337-4321 (602) 256-1011 

Cochise County Sheriff's Department Navajo County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process Civil Process 
P. O. Drawer F P. O. Box 668 
Bisbee, AZ 85603 Holbrook, AZ 86025 
(520) 432-9513 (520) 524-3969 

Coconino County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process 
P.  O. Box 39 
Flagstaff, AZ 86002 
(520) 774-4523 

Pima County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process 
32 N. Stone, 16th Floor
Tucson, AZ 85701 
(520) 351-6000

Gila County Sheriff's Department Pinal County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process Civil Process 
P. O. Box 311 P. O. Box 867 
Globe, AZ 85502 Florence, AZ 85232 
(520) 425-4449 (520) 868-5822 

Graham County Sheriff's Department Santa Cruz County Sheriff's department 
Civil Process Civil Process 
523 S. 10th Ave. P. O. Box 1150  
Safford, AZ 85546 Nogales, AZ  85628 
(520) 428-3141 (520) 287-4643 

Greenlee County Sheriff's Department Yavapai County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process Civil Process 
P. O. Box 998 255 E. Gurley 
Clifton, AZ 85533 Prescott, AZ 86301 
(520) 865-4149 

La Paz County Sheriff's Department Yuma County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process Civil Process 
P. O. Box BF 141 3rd. Ave. 
Parker, AZ 85344 Yuma, AZ  85364 
(520) 669-6141 

Mohave County Sheriff's Department 
Civil Process 
301 W. Beale 
Kingman, AZ 86401 
(520) 753-0756 
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______________________________________________ 
(YOUR NAME) 

______________________________________________ 
(ADDRESS) 

______________________________________________ 
(CITY/STATE/ZIP) 

______________________________________________ 
(TELEPHONE NUMBER) 

______________________________________________ 
(DATE) 

 County Sheriff/Constable 
(COUNTY) 

_________________________________________                                        
(ADDRESS) 

_________________________________________  
(CITY/STATE/ZIP) 

Dear Sheriff/Constable: 

I enclose an original Summons and a copy of each document listed below, for case No.  . 
1. Summons
2. Petition for Paternity
3. Affidavit Re: Minor Child(ren)
4. Order to Complete Course in Domestic Relations Education on Children’s Issues
5. Others (list)
__________________________________________________________________________    
__________________________________________________________________________    

Please serve these papers on the Respondent.  His/Her current address and physical description are: 

_________________________________________     
(RESPONDENT'S NAME) 

___________________________________________________________________________________   
(HOME ADDRESS) (WORK ADDRESS) 

     _________________________________________   
(HOME CITY/STATE/ZIP) (WORK CITY/STATE, ZIP) 

SEX RACE BIRTH HGT. WGT. EYES HAIR SSN 

Please return a notarized Affidavit of Service and the original Summons to my address at your earliest 
convenience.   

 I also enclose a deposit of $   OR, 
 I also enclose a certified copy of the Order for Deferral/Waiver of fees for Service of Process.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. 

Sincerely, 

________________________________    
(YOUR SIGNATURE) 

REQUEST FOR 

SERVICE BY SHERIFF 

OR CONSTABLE 
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Instructions for Service of 
Petition – Service by 

Private Process Server 

Private process servers charge a fee. Unlike the fees for filing Petitions and 

for service by a Sheriff or Constable, private process server fees cannot be 

deferred or waived. See Packet #12, Waiver and Deferral of Costs and Fees for 

more information. 

STEP 1: FIND A PRIVATE PROCESS SERVER:  

You can find one in the Yellow Pages under “Process Servers,” or you can use an Internet 

search.  

STEP 2: GO TO THE PRIVATE PROCESS SERVER: 

TAKE WITH YOU THE FOLLOWING: 

o Original Summons

o A copy of the Petition and the other papers for the process server to give to the other

parent

o A photograph and/or written physical description of the other parent

o A photograph and/or written description of the automobile the other parent drives

o Addresses (home and work) where the other parent can be served

o The money you need to pay for the service fees.

(You can call ahead of time to ask the cost and preferred method of payment).

STEP 3: WAIT:  

Wait for the Process Server to mail you a copy of the completed Affidavit of Service. Make 

yourself a copy of this Affidavit. The Process Server will also return the original Summons to 

you. You must then file the original Affidavit of Service and the original Summons with the clerk 

of the court.  (The Process Server may file these papers instead of sending them back to you.) 

Be sure to remember the day the other parent was served by the Process Server, 

as indicated on the Affidavit of Service. This day is the date of service, and the 

other parent has 20 days from this day if served inside the state of Arizona, or 30 

days if served outside the state, to respond to your Petition. 
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Instructions for Service of 
Petition—Acceptance of 

Service 

STEP 1: COMPLETE THE BLANKS AT THE TOP OF THE ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE 

FORM: 

o Fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and telephone number (unless

you requested a Protected Address in your Petition).

o In the spaces that say “Petitioner,” fill in your name.

o In the spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in the other parent’s name.

STEP 2: ASK THE OTHER PARENT TO ACCEPT SERVICE: 

(A) IF THE OTHER PARENT GOES WITH YOU TO THE CLERK OF COURT TO FILE YOUR 

PETITION AND OTHER DOCUMENTS: 

The other parent must sign the Acceptance of Service form (provided below) in front of 

the clerk. The clerk will then notarize the other parent’s signature for free. Notaries require 

valid picture ID’s of the person whose signature they are verifying, so the other parent must 

bring his or her driver’s license, passport, or other form of photo identification.  

OR 

(B) IF THE OTHER PARENT WILL NOT OR CANNOT GO WITH YOU TO FILE THE 

PETITION:   

o Agree on a day and time to meet with the other parent in front of a notary public. Most

banks have notaries on staff, and your own bank may notarize documents for free.

You can also find notaries under “Notaries Public” in the Yellow Pages, or by doing an

Internet search.

o Give the other parent his or her set of copies of the papers you filed. Have the original

Summons with you in case the other parent wants you to prove you have it.

o The other parent must sign the Acceptance of Service form (provided below) in front

of the notary. Notaries require valid picture ID’s of the person whose signature they
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are verifying, so the other parent must bring his or her driver’s license, passport, or 

other form of photo identification. 

OR 

(C) IF YOU CANNOT BE WITH THE OTHER PARENT IN PERSON AND HAVE THE 

ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE FORM SIGNED: 

o Send copies of all of the documents (including a copy of the Summons) and the original

Acceptance of Service form to the other parent with an explanation of the process. You

may use the model cover letter included below. Indicate all included documents and list

any not already listed.

o The other parent must sign the Acceptance of Service form in front of a notary public

and send it back to you. The Acceptance of Service form must include the date it was

signed. Notaries require valid picture ID’s of the person whose signature they are

verifying, so the other parent must bring his or her driver’s license, passport, or other

form of photo identification.

You may need to remind the other parent to send back the Acceptance of Service 

form. If the other parent still does not send it back (signed and notarized!), you 

will have to serve the other parent using another method. 

STEP 3: FILE THE ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE FORM: 

File with the clerk of the court the original Summons and the original Acceptance of 

Service form (signed by the other parent and notarized).The day the other parent signed and 

had notarized the Acceptance of Service form is the date of service. The other parent has 20 

days after that day if the form was signed inside the state of Arizona, or 30 days if it was signed 

outside the state, to respond to your Petition. 

When signing the Acceptance of Service form, the other parent (“Respondent”) verifies 

UNDER OATH that each statement in numbers 1 through 4 is true.  
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____________________________________________    
(YOUR NAME) 

_____________________________________________  
(ADDRESS) 

 _____________________________________________    
(CITY/STATE/ZIP) 

_____________________________________________  
(TELEPHONE NUMBER) 

_____________________________________________  
(DATE) 

_____________________________________ 
(OTHER PARTY’S NAME) 

_____________________________________ 
(ADDRESS) 

_____________________________________                           
(CITY/STATE/ZIP) 

Re:  Acceptance of Petition for ______________________________________ 

Dear _____________________________________ 
 (OTHER PARTY’S NAME) 

I have filed a Petition for   Enclosed is a copy of the following 
papers for you: 

1. Summons
2. Petition for Paternity
3. Affidavit Re: Minor Child(ren)
4. Order to Complete Course in Domestic Relations Education on Children’s Issues
5. Others (list)
__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________    

I have also enclosed an Acceptance of Service, which I would like you to sign in front of a Notary Public 
and return to me in the self-addressed stamped envelope, in order to save me the cost of service of 
process. 

By signing the Acceptance, you still have the right to contest the terms of the Petition, but you must file a 
written Response with the court.  You must do so within 20 days of signing the Acceptance if you sign in 
the State of Arizona, or within 30 days of signing the Acceptance if you sign outside the State of Arizona. 

Sincerely, 

______________________________    
(YOUR SIGNATURE) 

ACCEPTANCE OF 

SERVICE COVER 

LETTER 
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Name: ___________________________________  

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY

_____________________________________________ Case No. _________________ 
Petitioner 

and 

       ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE
__________________________________________ 

Respondent 

THE RESPONDENT IN THIS ACTION MAKES THESE STATEMENTS UNDER OATH: 

1. I acknowledge that I have voluntarily accepted a copy of these legal papers: Summons, Petition
for Paternity, and other documents (if applicable, list them here):
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________

I waive formal service of process (personal service), and understand by accepting these papers it
is the same as if I were personally served under Arizona law [Arizona Rules of Family Law
Procedure, Rule 40(f)].

2. I am aware that accepting service of these court papers and signing this document does not
reduce my rights or obligation to file a written Response to this action.  I understand that if I do
not agree with any relief asked by Petitioner, I must respond within 20 days if I accepted service
in Arizona, or 30 days if I was served elsewhere, counting from the day after I signed this form.

3. I understand that if I do not appear in and defend this action in court, within the time allowed by
law, that I may lose my right to be heard in this case.  I understand that failure to respond or
appear could result in the court granting the Petitioner any legally available remedies requested in
his or her Petition, through a Default Judgment.

4. I am not in the military forces of the United States of America in any capacity, OR I waive the
protection of the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act.

_______________________________ 
Respondent 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this            day of ____________  20________, by 

__________________________________________________.  

________________________________ 
Notary Public 

My Commission Expires: ________________________ 
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Instructions for Service of 
Petition—Service By Mail 

STEP 1: GO TO THE POST OFFICE: 

Tell the Post Office clerk you would like to mail the papers to the other parent as follows: 

o Restricted Delivery (Deliver to Addressee Only) AND

o Return Receipt Requested

STEP 2: WAIT:   

Wait for the green receipt to be returned in the mail with the other parent’s signature. Be sure to 

remember the date the other parent received and signed for the papers (NOT the date you 

received the green receipt). The day the other parent received and signed for the papers is the 

date of service, and the other parent has 20 days from that day if served inside the state of 

Arizona, or 30 days if served outside the state, to respond to your Petition. 

STEP 3: PREPARE THE DOCUMENTS FOR THE COURT: 

o Complete the Affidavit of Service by Mail (included below)

o Attach the original green receipt to the Affidavit to prove method of service

o Keep a copy of the Affidavit of Service by Mail and attached green receipt

STEP 4: FILE THE AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE BY MAIL: 

Give the clerk the: 

o Original Summons

o Original Affidavit of Service by Mail (with attached green receipt)
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Name: ___________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________ 

City, State, ZIP: ____________________________ 

Daytime Telephone No: ______________________ 

Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY   

         
_____________________________________________               Case No. _________________  
                                                 Petitioner      

   AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE 
and   BY MAIL   

  
_____________________________________________     
                                 Respondent    
STATE OF ARIZONA  ) 

)ss. 
County of Pima   )   
 
1. I am the Petitioner in this case.  I am familiar with the facts stated in this Affidavit and I make this 

Affidavit to show that I have served the court papers on the Respondent by mail, restricted 
delivery, postage prepaid, return receipt requested, pursuant to Arizona Rules of Family Law 
Procedure, Rule 41(c)(2) or 42(c).   

 
 Person served (Name of Respondent):     

             _________________________________________________________                                                                                               

 Address where Respondent was served:  

             _________________________________________________________                                                                                            

 Date of receipt by the Respondent: _____________________________                                                                  

 Date of return of receipt to Sender: _____________________________                                                                

 
2. The Summons, Petition for Paternity, and (list other documents sent, if applicable) 

_____________________________________________________________________________  
_____________________________________________________________________________  
were sent by mail to the Respondent. These papers were received by the Respondent as shown 
by the original receipt attached to this Affidavit on the following page. 

                                                                                   

________________________________ 
Petitioner 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this              day of ______________, 20       , by            
 
___________________________________________________.                                                                                                           
 
 ________________________________                                                                           
  NOTARY PUBLIC 
My Commission Expires:  
 
_______________________                                                       
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STAPLE OR TAPE ORIGINAL OF 
POST OFFICE GREEN RECEIPT HERE 

WITH SIGNATURE SIDE UP 
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