
Minor Guardianships:  Instructions for 

Fingerprinting Non-Blood Relatives 
As a non-blood relative who is asking to be appointed as a guardian of a minor, you must by law, be 
fingerprinted.  Even though you may have been fingerprinted by your employer, you must complete the 
fingerprint process through the Court. 

Please carefully review the items you will need and the steps you need to follow to be in compliance with 
the fingerprint process. 

You will need the following items to complete the fingerprint process: 

1) One 9 x 12 envelope for each applicant/petitioner 
2) One 10 x13 envelope for each applicant/petitioner 
3) A cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $24.00 for each applicant/petitioner made payable to 

the Arizona Department of Public Safety.  Personal checks or cash cannot be accepted. 
4) A fingerprint packet which you must obtain from the Probate Clerk’s Office when you file your Petition 

for Appointment of Guardian of a Minor.  The fingerprint packet contains the following items: 
a. A copy of this leaflet; 
b. A blank fingerprint card; 
c. A Fingerprint Card Inventory Sheet.  This Inventory Sheet will have an Inventory Sheet Number 

which corresponds to the Inventory Sheet number on the blank fingerprint card. 
 
 

THE FINGERPRINT PROCESS 
 
After filing your Petition and other required documents with the Probate Clerk’s Office, two hearing dates will 
be set.  The Probate Clerk’s Office will set a fingerprint compliance hearing within 10 business days from the 
date you filed your paperwork.  Case Management Services located at the first floor information desk will set 
the guardianship hearing.  This hearing is set 8 weeks from the date you filed your paperwork.  This allows 
sufficient time for the Court to receive the fingerprint results before your hearing to be appointed.  After 
receiving the hearing dates, you must complete the following steps: 
 

1)   Go to either the Tucson Police Department or Pima County Sheriff’s Department and have your 
prints taken.  Use only the fingerprint card you received from the Court.  Take a state-issued picture 
I.D. and the 9 x 12 envelope when you go to have your prints taken.  The Sheriff’s Department and 
Tucson Police Department will charge a separate fingerprinting fee.  You may wish to call ahead to 
check for available times for fingerprinting and the correct fee amount.   

2) After your fingerprints have been taken, the fingerprint card must placed in the 9 x 12 envelope, 
sealed, and signed by the officer or deputy who took the prints. 

3) You must appear at the fingerprint compliance hearing and bring the following items: 
a. The 9 x 12 sealed envelope which contains your fingerprints; 



b. The 10 x 13 envelope with sufficient postage – usually three first-class stamps.  This 
envelope should be addressed to the following address:  Arizona Department of Public 
Safety, Applicant Team One, M/D 2250, P.O. Box 18430, Phoenix, AZ  85005-8430; 

c. The Fingerprint Card Inventory Sheet - You need only fill out your name and date of birth 
in the designated section of the form; 

d. A cashier’s check or money order for $24.00 made payable to the Arizona Department of 
Public Safety. 

 
The Court will send the fingerprints to the Arizona Department of Public Safety for processing.  The fingerprint 
results will be returned to the Court and the judge will review them prior to the guardianship hearing. 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 

Q:  Who are blood relatives? 
A:  A blood relative is any of the following:  birth parent, adoptive parent, sibling (brother or sister with at least 
one parent in common), grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt or uncle (if he or she shares a common parent with 
either of the minor’s parents), or first cousin. 
Q:  Who are not blood relatives? 
A:  Any relative that is not listed above including the following:  step-parent, step-grandparent, step-sibling, 
spouse of aunt or uncle, or any alleged paternal relative where paternity has not been established. 
Q:  What if I forget to get my fingerprints taken and then appear at the guardianship hearing? 
A:  You will not be appointed if fingerprinting is required. 
Q:  How long does it take to get the fingerprint results back from DPS? 
A:  It takes approximately 6 to 8 weeks for the Court to receive the fingerprint results. 
Q:  What if I tamper with the fingerprint card or substitute somebody else’s prints for my own? 
A:  You could be held in contempt of court.  If you testify in court that falsified prints are your own, you could 
be prosecuted for perjury. 
 

ADDRESSES 
 

Arizona Department of Public Safety    Clerk of Court – Probate  
Applicant Team One      Pima County Superior Court 
M/D 2250       110 W. Congress 
P. O. Box 18430      Tucson, AZ  85701 
Phoenix, AZ  85005-8430     Telephone – (520) 740-3230 
 
Tucson Police Dept. – Fingerprinting    Pima County Sheriff – Fingerprinting  
1100 S. Alvernon Way     1650 E. Benson Hwy., Ste. B 
Tucson, AZ  85711      Tucson, AZ  85714 
Telephone – (520) 791-4697     Telephone – (520) 351-4971 

 


