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These forms must not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of 

law. The court is not responsible for (1) actions taken by the users of these 

forms or (2) their reliance upon the instructions or information provided.   
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GENERAL	
  INFORMATION	
  &	
  
Frequently	
  Asked	
  Questions	
  

	
  
	
  

This packet will give you an overview of how to properly complete and file 

the necessary forms to inform the other parent that you want to move either 

out of state or more than 100 miles away from your current residence. 

If, in the last year, there was a court order or written agreement between 

you and the other parent allowing the relocation, you DO NOT need to fill 

out this packet.  

 

If the court order or written agreement is more than one year old, you must 

provide notice of your intent to relocate 45 days prior to the actual move. 

 

While the process may seem overwhelming, please know that this packet is 

written with your needs in mind, and is intended to make this process as easy for you as 

possible. Work on the forms with the instructions one at a time. 

 

Other important forms and instructions for Family Court cases can be found online at 

http://www.sc.pima.gov/Default.aspx?tabid=119 

 
This symbol is a warning. It can mean a few different things: 

• The topic can be confusing and you may need to ask a lawyer for help. 

• You may need to make sure that something is done. 

Whenever you see this symbol, make sure you read the information 

    carefully and understand it fully. 

 

When should I use this packet? 
Complete this packet to inform the other parent of your intent to relocate if: 

• You will be moving out of the state of Arizona or 
• You will be moving more than 100 miles away from your current residence 
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IMPORTANT! 
1. This form should be used only if you have a parenting time and legal 

decision-making order issued by a court in the state of Arizona. If your order 

was issued by another state, STOP. These forms cannot be used. A different 

procedure is required to enforce out-of-state orders and you may need to  

    contact an attorney to assist you.  

2. According A.R.S. §25-408 (A), 45 days’ written notice must be provided to the other parent 

prior to the planned move. This means that you must file the forms in this packet and serve 

the forms on the other parent 45 days before you move. This is required so the other 

parent has an opportunity to respond to your request.  

 

What is mediation? 
Mediation is when you and the other parent meet with a neutral third 

party, called a mediator. Mediators are professionals who can help 

you solve past or present problems, as well as anticipate future 

problems.  Mediators work with both parties in a dispute to help resolve the areas 

of disagreement or trouble. Mediation can be used to produce a written agreement 

about the relocation and its affects on parenting time. Free mediation services are 

available through the Conciliation Court. For more information, see Packet #15, 

Mediation. 

 

Do I need to serve the papers on the other party? 
Any time you file a legal document with the court, you must “serve” the other person. This is 

done to notify the other party about the proceedings and gives the opportunity to respond. 

The completed notice must be mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested or by using 

one of the methods described in Packet #10, Service of Papers. After receiving your notice, 

the other parent has 30 days to file a motion seeking to prevent the relocation.  
 

Failure to provide 45 days’ written notice to the other parent prior to moving 

may result in sanctions by the court. Sanctions can include the assignment of 

court costs and attorney fees and a charge of contempt.  
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What if I need to move sooner than 45 days? 
Notice to the other parent must be given first, but if the circumstances causing the need to 

move are due to health, safety, employment, or eviction of you or your current spouse, you may 

be able to move temporarily with your child sooner than 45 days.  

 

NOTE: If you and the other parent share joint legal-decision making and have 

substantially equal parenting time, you cannot move without a written 

agreement signed by both parents allowing the temporary relocation.  

 

Do I still need to follow the existing parenting plan? 
Yes, all parents must continue to comply with the current agreement or court orders no matter 

how far away the new home is located until a new agreement is reached through mediation or 

new orders are issued by the court.   

 

What if the other parent and I have an agreement about relocating? 
If your parenting plan or some other written agreement specifically allows or does not allow 

relocation, the court will follow that agreement unless it can be shown that the agreement is no 

longer in the child’s best interests.  

 
What will the court consider when making its decision? 
Generally, unless the court finds that parenting time seriously endangers the child’s physical, 

mental, moral, or emotional health, both parents are entitled to reasonable parenting time. If a 

hearing is held to decide whether you will be allowed to relocate with your child, the burden of 

proving what is in the child’s best interests will be on you.  The court will consider the following 

best interest factors found in A.R.S.§ 25-403 

1. The past, present and potential future relationship between the parent and the child. 

2. The interaction and interrelationship of the child with the child's parent or parents, the 

child's siblings and any other person who may significantly affect the child's best interest. 

3. The child's adjustment to home, school and community. 

4. If the child is of suitable age and maturity, the wishes of the child as to legal decision-

making and parenting time. 

5. The mental and physical health of all individuals involved. 

6. Which parent is more likely to allow the child frequent, meaningful and continuing 
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contact with the other parent. This paragraph does not apply if the court determines that 

a parent is acting in good faith to protect the child from witnessing an act of domestic 

violence or being a victim of domestic violence or child abuse. 

7. Whether one parent intentionally misled the court to cause an unnecessary delay, to 

increase the cost of litigation or to persuade the court to give a legal decision-making or 

a parenting time preference to that parent. 

8. Whether there has been domestic violence or child abuse pursuant to A.R.S. § 25-

403.03.  

9. The nature and extent of coercion or duress used by a parent in obtaining an agreement 

regarding legal decision-making or parenting time. 

10. Whether a parent has complied with chapter 3, article 5 of Title 25. 

11. Whether either parent was convicted of an act of false reporting of child abuse or neglect 

under A.R.S. § 13-2907.02 

 

The court will also consider: 
1. Whether the relocation is being made or opposed in good faith and not to interfere with 

or to frustrate the relationship between the child and the other parent or the other 

parent's right of access to the child. 

2. The prospective advantage of the move for improving the general quality of life for the 

custodial parent or for the child. 

3. The likelihood that the parent with whom the child will reside after the relocation will 

comply with parenting time orders. 

4. Whether the relocation will allow a realistic opportunity for parenting time with each 

parent. 

5. The extent to which moving or not moving will affect the emotional, physical or 

developmental needs of the child. 

6. The motives of the parents and the validity of the reasons given for moving or opposing 

the move including the extent to which either parent may intend to gain a financial 

advantage regarding continuing child support obligations. 

7. The potential effect of relocation on the child's stability. 
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Instructions for Completing the  
Notice of Intent to Relocate Minor 
Child/Children  

	
  
You may type on the forms or write on them using black ink 

The Caption  
The Caption is the information in the upper left-hand side of the first page of each form. 

•  Personal information – Fill in your name, street address, city, state, ZIP code, and 

telephone number. 

If you are a domestic violence victim, do not write your address on this form.                         

Instead, write “Protected Address” and complete the Request for Protected Address 

form. 

• Case No. – Enter your Superior Court Number as found on the original Petition.  

• Petitioner – Enter the Petitioner’s name, as found on the original Petition.   

• Respondent – Enter the Respondent’s name, as found on the original Petition.   

	
  
1.  Write the name of the judge assigned to your case. 

2. Write the name of the other parent. 

3. Check the box that indicates whether you are the Petitioner or the Respondent. If you 

are unsure, look at the documents that were first filed in your case. 

4. Provide the date of your most recent written agreement or court order and check both 

boxes if both parents have been granted legal decision-making or parenting time. Check 

only one box to indicate if only one parent, either the petitioner or respondent, has legal 

decision-making or parenting time. If you are unsure which parent is the petitioner or 

respondent, look at the documents that were first filed in your case. 	
  

5. Check the box to indicate that the other parent is either the petitioner or respondent 

again as found on your documents that were first filed in your case.	
  

6. Check the first box if you plan to move out of the state of Arizona and provide the new 

address. Check the second box if you plan to move more than 100 miles away from your 

current address, but will remain in the state of Arizona. Provide the new address.	
  

7. Sign and date the form checking the same box for Petitioner or Respondent as you did 

above. 
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Name:      
Address:     
City, State, ZIP:      
Daytime Telephone     
Representing Self, Without a Lawyer 

 
ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

	
  
 
____________________________________  Case No. __________________
     Petitioner 
        NOTICE OF INTENT TO 
      and  RELOCATE MINOR  
        CHILD/CHILDREN 
_____________________________________   
     Respondent  ASSIGNED TO:_____________ 
     
Pursuant to A.R.S. §25-408 A, this Notice is given to: , the  
other parent of our child/children. 
 
I am the ☐ Petitioner  ☐ Respondent in the above matter.   
 
Pursuant to written agreement or Court order dated _______________________ the 
 ☐ Petitioner   ☐ Respondent is entitled to legal decision-making or parenting time with our 
child/children. 
 
I am giving the  ☐ Petitioner  ☐ Respondent forty-five (45) days advance notice that I may: 
   

  ☐ Relocate our child/children out of Arizona to:     
   

  OR 
   
  ☐ Relocate our child/children more than one hundred miles within Arizona, to: 

   . 
 
 

 
 
Dated: ____________________   ___________________________________ 

         ☐ Petitioner   ☐ Respondent 

Within thirty days after this notice is made to you by certified mail, return 
receipt requested or pursuant to the Arizona rules of civil procedure, the 
nonmoving parent may petition the Court to prevent relocation of the child/children. 
After expiration of this time, any petition or other application to prevent relocation of 
the child/children may be granted only on a showing of good cause. 
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  Next	
  Steps 	
  	
  

1. Make two (2) copies of the completed Notice of Intent to : 
 

2. Separate the documents into 3 sets. 

• Set 1 goes to the clerk of the court (original) 

• Set 2 will go to the other party  

• Set 3 is your set of copies 
 

3. File the papers at the court. 

• Take the Notice of Intent to the clerk of the Superior Court. Arrive at least one hour 

before the court closes. 

First	
  Floor	
  
Superior	
  Court	
  Building	
  
110	
  West	
  Congress	
  
Tucson,	
  AZ	
  85701	
  
Open	
  8	
  am	
  to	
  5	
  pm,	
  Monday	
  through	
  Friday	
  (except	
  legal	
  holidays)	
  
	
  

4. Serve the court papers on the other parent 
• After you file the papers at the court, mail the other parent’s copy by certified mail, 

return receipt requested or use Packet #10, Service of Papers on the Other Party for 

information on other ways to deliver Set 2 of the documents to the other party. YOU 

are responsible for serving the other parent your Notice of Intent to Relocate. Failure 

to provide the documents to the other parent may result in denial of your request, 

delay in the proceedings, or sanctions. 

5. Wait thirty (30) days  

• The other parent has 30 days to respond to your notice and petition to prevent your 

relocation with the child. If a petition is filed by the other parent, you will need to 

prepare for a hearing and watch for a notice from the court designating the time and 

date of that hearing. See Packet #14, Trial Preparation for information on how to best 

prepare. 

	
  

 


