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DIVORCE WITHOUT 

CHILDREN PETITION 

Packet # 5 

These forms must not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. 

The court is not responsible for (1) actions taken by the users of these forms or 

(2) the users’ reliance upon the instructions or information provided.
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Read this before you complete any forms in your packet. 

Sensitive data, or sensitive information, is information that you might not want other people to see. 

Sensitive data includes your social security numbers, bank account numbers, credit card numbers, and 

other financial account numbers. 

Court documents, for the most part, can be seen by anyone. If you need to include any of the types of 

information listed above, you should write “SEE CONFIDENTIAL SENSITIVE DATA FORM” on the 

document. Then you need to fill out the Confidential Sensitive Data Form. This is where you will 

include the actual sensitive information. 

This is important because the “Confidential Sensitive Data Form” will not be seen by the public. 

If you ever need to give the court new information, then you should file an updated sensitive data form. 

Include all other sensitive data forms that you have already given the court, plus any new sensitive 

information that you need to tell the court. 

If you include “sensitive data” in documents filed with the court, other than on a 

Confidential Sensitive Data Form, you do so at your own risk. 

See Instructions on Completing the Sensitive Data Form near the end of this packet. 
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General Information & 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Do not fill out all of the forms in all of the packets at the beginning of your case. 

Complete only the forms that you need for the step that you are working on. 

What is a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage? 

This petition is a written, legal request for a divorce. 

What do “Petitioner” and “Respondent” mean? 

Because you are the one asking and filing for a divorce, you are called the 

PETITIONER. Your spouse is the RESPONDENT. 

Are there any requirements for filing for divorce in Arizona? 

In order to file for a divorce in Arizona, you or your spouse must have lived in Arizona for at least 90 

days before the time you file. If one of you is in the military, that person has to have been stationed in 

Arizona for at least 90 days. If one of you has not lived in Arizona for at least 90 days DO NOT FILE. 

You have to wait until one of you has lived here for 90 days. 

Arizona is a no-fault divorce state. This means you only need to show that the marriage is irrevocably 

broken (meaning there is no reasonable possibility of the two of you getting back together). 

What can I ask for in my divorce? 

You may ask the court to divide property and assign debt. Arizona is a “community property” state, 

which means that almost all of the property that you and your spouse got while you were married 

belongs to the both of you. For more information about community property and the division of property 

and debt, see Packet #1, General Information. 

You may also be entitled to receive Spousal Maintenance (Alimony). For more information, see Packet 

#1, General Information. 

There may also be financial or other issues that should be dealt with before your divorce is final. You 

can ask the court for Temporary Orders at the time you file your Petition or any time afterward. For 

more information on temporary orders and how to file them, see Packet #13, 

Temporary Orders. 
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This symbol is a warning. It can mean a few different things: 

• The topic can be confusing and you may need to ask a lawyer for help

• You may need to make sure that something is done

Whenever you see this symbol, make sure you read the information carefully and understand it fully. 

Do I need a lawyer’s help? 

Court cases can be very complicated, and even if you are representing yourself you should see a lawyer 

for legal advice as to how the law applies to you, and what is best in your particular situation. This might 

save you time, money and trips to court, and help you to avoid serious mistakes. 

There are lawyers who will help you. They will only charge you for giving you the help you need, and 

you can complete the court papers on your own or ask the lawyer for help with your papers. For more 

information, call the Law Library and Resource Center at (520) 724-8456 and ask how to find an 

attorney. 

Where is the Law Library and Resource Center? 

The Law Library and Resource Center is a free service located in the Room 256, on the second floor of 

the Pima County Superior Court (110 West Congress Street, Tucson, Arizona 85701). It is open from 

8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays). For more information, call (520) 724-

8456 or email lawlibrary@sc.pima.gov. 

You can also contact the Pima County Bar Lawyer Referral Service by calling 520-623-4625. You can 

have 30 minutes with a family lawyer for a small fee or you may be directed to an attorney who will 

represent you for a reduced fee. 

mailto:lawlibrary@sc.pima.gov.
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Are you the victim of domestic violence? 

Important! Read this first… 
Unfortunately, domestic violence may occur in any relationship and 

may be directed against you personally or against your children. 

You are a domestic violence victim if you or your children have experienced: 

• Physical acts like hitting, slapping, pushing, or kicking

• Threats of physical violence by phone or in person

• Abusive words and/or behavior used to control you or put you in any kind of danger

• Being followed around throughout the day or having your interaction with others monitored

• Being forbidden to leave your house, or being taken against your will and kept at any other

location

• Having someone enter the house against your will, behave in a disorderly manner, and/or

damage property

• Conduct that involves disobeying court orders, including interfering with your parenting time

• You DO NOT need to have been seen at a hospital or at a doctor’s office.

• The other person DOES NOT need to have been convicted of domestic violence or

assault.

You can get an IMMEDIATE Order of Protection to keep him or her away from you by obtaining 

a Petition for Order of Protection from the clerk of the court on the first floor of the Pima County 

Superior Court, Rooms 203 and 204. You may submit the Petition to any of the following court 

locations between the hours of 8 am and 4:30 pm. 

Pima County Juvenile Court Center 

2225 E. Ajo Way 

(520) 724-2045

Tucson City Court 

103 E. Alameda St. 

(520) 791-4971

Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 

240 N. Stone Avenue, 2nd floor 

(520) 724-3171

Pima Superior Court Clerk’s Office 

110 W. Congress, 1st floor 

(520) 724-3210
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To get an Order of Protection after hours or on weekends or holidays, call: 

Tucson Police Department 

(520) 741-4444 

Pima County Sheriff’s Department 

(520) 724-4900 

 

 

In case of emergency, call 911. 

 

If you are in a protected location or shelter DO NOT put your address or phone number on the 

court documents!  

 

If possible, get a P.O. Box or use another valid mailing address on the papers, and tell the clerk of 

the court about your existing Order of Protection and case number.  

 

You can ask for a Protected Address with the Request for a Protected Address form. Both the Request 

for a Protected Address and Order for a Protected Address are included at the end of this packet. 

 

You can find more information about Orders of Protection at the Clerk of Court located on the first floor 

of Pima County Superior Court (110 West Congress Street, Tucson Arizona 85701). They are open from 

8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday (except holidays). For more information, call (520) 724-

3210. 

 

The Request for a Protected Address is NOT the same form as the Confidential Sensitive Data Form. 
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How Do I get a Divorce? 
 

There are a few steps you have to take in order to get a divorce. 

 

 

Step 1. File your divorce papers 

To file a Petition for Divorce, use the forms and instructions in this packet. 

This first set of paperwork is the beginning of the divorce process. 

 

Step 2. Serve the divorce paperwork 

A copy of your petition must be officially served on your spouse. This tells 

your spouse that you are asking for a divorce and gives your spouse an 

opportunity to file a Response to your petition. This step is very important! 

There are specific directions for how to officially serve the Petition on your 

spouse. Forms and instructions are in Packet #10 Service of Papers. 

 

Step 3. Request a default decision OR go forward with a divorce trial 

If your spouse does not file a Response to your Petition through the court within the time limits of the 

Summons (see Packet #10 Service on the Other Party), the divorce can proceed as a Default. A Default 

means that the court will order everything legally reasonable you asked for in your Petition. Before your 

divorce can proceed as a Default, you must file an application for Default. Forms and instructions are in 

Packet #11 Obtaining a Default Decree. 

 

If your spouse filed a Response and you cannot reach an agreement, you will need to have 

a divorce trial. Forms and instruction are in Packet #14 Trial Preparation. If this is the 

case, you should seek the advice of a lawyer. 

 

Step 4. Get a final decision 

To make your divorce final, you have to fill out a Decree to be signed by the judicial officer. The Decree 

is the final order from the court granting you the divorce and deciding the other issues related to the 

divorce. Forms and instructions are in Packet #4 Divorce with Children Decree. 
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How much will all this cost? 
 

CURRENT FILING FEES 

A list of current filing fees can be found on the Superior Court website here: 

https://www.sc.pima.gov/media/azuphktr/filingfeesdomesticrelations.pdf 

Additionally, the Law Library and Resource Center, located on the 2nd floor in the Superior Court 

building, can provide a hard copy of the same list. 

 

NOTE: You have to pay fees to file documents for your divorce. If you can’t afford the court fees or 

other costs for a divorce, you may be able to get a deferral or waiver. 

 

HOW TO GET A DEFERRAL OR WAIVER 

You can apply for a full waiver or deferral of the fees if you cannot pay. 

• A deferral means that you do not have to pay any fees at the beginning of your case, but you 

will be expected to pay on a predetermined schedule. 

• A waiver means that you do not have to pay the fees at all. 

• Not everybody who requests a deferral or waiver receives one. 

• You file for a deferral or waiver at the same time you file your petition or response. 

 

For more information see Packet #12 Deferral/Waiver of Fees & Costs 

  

https://www.sc.pima.gov/media/azuphktr/filingfeesdomesticrelations.pdf
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Volunteer Lawyers Program 

Domestic Relations Clinic 
 

Pima County Superior Court has a program through which free 

assistance is given to people representing themselves in a family law 

matter. 

 

At the clinic, someone will review your Decrees, Child Support Orders, and Income Withholding Orders 

to help ensure these documents are complete and legally correct. 

Making use of the Clinic is in your best interest. The judicial officer will not sign any documents that 

are incorrect or incomplete. In such cases, you will have to leave, correct your documents, and then 

schedule another hearing. 

 

To schedule an appointment call the Law Library and Resource Center at 520-724-8456, or go in person 

to the library on the second floor of the Pima County Superior Court for information. 

 

 

There are lawyers who will help you help yourself 

This means that they will only charge for the help you need, and you can complete the court papers on 

your own. 

 

Court cases can be quite complicated, and talking to a lawyer can help you avoid serious mistakes and 

save you time, money and trips to the court. 

 

For more information, call the Law Library and Resource Center at 520-724-8456 and ask how to find 

an attorney. You can also contact the Pima County Bar Lawyer Referral Service by calling 520- 623-

4625. You can have one-half hour with a family lawyer for a small fee or you may be directed to an 

attorney who will represent you for a reduced fee. 

 

We encourage you to also make use of the additional resources following this page for more 

information on finding a lawyer. 
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Additional Resources Available to You 
Trying to change your Legal Decision-Making and Parenting Time Order can be confusing and scary. If 

you feel you need help with parts of the modification process, you can consult a “limited-scope 

attorney” who will only charge for giving the help you need. The Self- Service Center and the Domestic 

Relations Clinic will help you review your documents if you prefer to complete them on your own. You 

may also wish to contact the Pima County Bar Association’s QUILT program for information about 

attorneys with reduced fees. 

 

To Find a Lawyer: 

Pima County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service and QUILT program: 520-623-4625 

Law Library and Resource Center: 520-724-8456 

Southern Arizona Legal Aid: 520-623-9465 

 

Mediation Services and Parent Education: 

Pima County Conciliation Court: 520-724-5590 

• Provides free mediation services to residents of Pima County 

• Administers Parent Education Classes 

 

Model Parenting Time Plans: 
http://www.azcourts.gov/portals/31/parentingTime/PPWguidelines.pdf. 

 

Child Support Help: 
Arizona DES Child Support Enforcement Division website:  

https://https://des.az.gov/dcss 

 

Child Support Calculator: 
https://www.sc.pima.gov/law-library/child-support-calculator/ 

 

Other resources you may find helpful: 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.):  

https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=25 

 

Pima County Bar Association Public Resource Page: http://www.pimacountybar.org/legal-resources 

 

State Bar of Arizona:  

https://azbar.legalserviceslink.com/ 

 

Law Library website:  

https://www.sc.pima.gov/law-library/ 

  

http://www.azcourts.gov/portals/31/parentingTime/PPWguidelines.pdf
https://des.az.gov/dcss
https://www.sc.pima.gov/law-library/child-support-calculator/
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=25
http://www.pimacountybar.org/legal-resources
https://azbar.legalserviceslink.com/
https://www.sc.pima.gov/law-library/
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General Instructions for Completing this Packet 
 

You may type or write on the forms, but you must use black ink. 

 

 

This packet contains the following seven forms that must be filled out and submitted to the court: 

• Domestic Relations Cover Sheet 

• Summons 

• Preliminary Injunction 

• Petition for Dissolution of Marriage 

• Confidential Sensitive Data Form 

• Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance 

• Creditor’s Notification 

 

The Caption 

The Caption is the information in the upper left hand side of the first page of each form. 

• Personal Information – Fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and telephone 

number. 

• Case No. – Leave this blank. The Clerk will fill in this information for you when you file your 

Petition. 

• Petitioner/Plaintiff – Enter your name as the Petitioner. 

• Respondent/Defendant – Enter the name of your spouse as the Respondent. 

 

 

At the end of the instructions, there are directions on how to file these forms with the court once they are 

completed. If you need a deferral or waiver, you must file the request for a deferral or waiver with this 

packet. 

 

For more information see Packet #12, Deferral/Waiver of Fees & Costs 
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Instructions for Completing the 

Domestic Relations Cover Sheet 
 

 

 

 

 

PETITIONER’S ATTORNEY and ATTORNEY No. 

• Write “none” in both spaces. 

PETITIONER’S NAME and PETITIONER’S ADDRESS 

• Fill in your name and address unless you are requesting a Protected Address. 

RESPONDENT’S NAME 

• Fill in your spouse’s name. 

CASE PREFERENCE 

• Leave this blank. 

NATURE OF ACTION 

• Check the box that says “Dissolution.” 

• Leave the rest of the form blank. 
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DOMESTIC RELATIONS COVER SHEET For Court Use Only 

Complete this form to the best of your ability and 

include all known petitioners and respondents. 

 DATE FILED: 

 CASE NUMBER: 

 JUDGE: 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT 

PETITIONER’S ATTORNEY ATTORNEY No. 

PETITIONER’S NAME(S) (List All) PETITIONER’S ADDRESS(ES) 

(Include only if not represented by an attorney) 

RESPONDENT’S NAME(S) (List All) CASE PREFERENCE 

(cite statute or rule) 

EMERGENCY ORDER SOUGHT: 

☐ TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER

☐ PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

☐OTHER

(Specify) 

NATURE OF ACTION 

Place an “x” in the box which describes the nature of the case you are filing. 

If more than one, circle the predominant one. 

☐ UNCLASSIFIED DOMESTIC (370)

☐ Legal Decision-Making

☐ DOMESTIC CUSTODY

☐ DISSOLUTIONS (300)

☐ Dissolution

☐ Foreign Decree

☐ Special Paternity – Maternity (310)

☐ Annulment (320)

☐ Legal Separation (330)

☐ Reciprocal Support (350)

☐ Domestic Violence (360)
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Instructions for Completing the 

Summons Form 
 

 

 

 

 

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and telephone 

number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address. 

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name. 

• In both spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name. 

• Leave the rest of the form blank. 
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SUMMONS 

(Family Law) 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WARNING. THIS IS AN OFFICIAL DOCUMENT FROM THE COURT THAT 

AFFECTS YOUR RIGHTS. READ THIS SUMMONS CAREFULLY. IF YOU DO NOT 

UNDERSTAND IT, CONTACT AN ATTORNEY FOR LEGAL ADVICE. 

FROM THE STATE OF ARIZONA TO  

 (Name of Respondent) 

1. A lawsuit has been filed against you. A copy of the lawsuit and other related court paperwork 

is served on you with this Summons. 

2. If you do not want a judgment taken against you without your input, you must file a Response 

in writing with the Court, and you must pay the required filing fee. To file your Response, take 

or send the papers to: Office of the Clerk of the Superior Court, 110 West Congress, Tucson, 

Arizona 85701. Mail a copy of the Response to your spouse, the Petitioner, at the address listed 

on the top of this Summons. 

3. If this Summons and the other court papers were served on you within the State of Arizona, 

your Response must be filed within TWENTY (20) CALENDAR DAYS from the date of the 

service, not counting the day of service. If the papers were served on you outside the State of 

Arizona, your Response must be filed within THIRTY (30) CALENDAR DAYS, not counting 

the day of service. 

4. Requests for reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities must be made to the 

court by parties at least 3 working days in advance of a scheduled court proceeding. 

5. Either spouse, or both spouses, may file in the conciliation court a petition invoking the 

jurisdiction of the court for the purpose of preserving the marriage by effecting conciliation 

between the parties. 

GIVEN under my hand and the Seal of the Superior Court of the State of Arizona in and for the  

County of Pima this  day of  , 20  . 

CLERK OF THE SUPERIOR COURT 
By  

 Deputy Clerk 
 

Person Filing:    

Address (if not protected):   

City, State, Zip Code:    

Telephone:    

Email Address:    

ATLAS Number:    

Lawyer’s Bar Number:   

Representing ☐ Self, without a Lawyer or 

☐ Attorney for ☐ Petitioner OR ☐ Respondent 

 

Petitioner 

and 

 

Respondent 

Case No.                                
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Instructions for Completing t   tthe 

Preliminary Injunction 
 

 

 

 

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and telephone 

number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address. 

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name. 

• In the space that says “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name. 

• Leave the rest of the form blank. 

 

 

 

 

It is important that you read this form carefully because you will be required to follow 

these orders after you file the Petition. Among other things, this injunction forbids you 

and your spouse from taking certain actions affecting your joint property. 
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PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION 

FROM THE COURT AGAINST 

BOTH PETITIONER AND 

RESPONDENT 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

WARNING TO PETITIONER AND RESPONDENT: THIS IS AN OFFICIAL ORDER 

FROM THE COURT. IT AFFECTS YOUR RIGHTS. READ THIS ORDER 

IMMEDIATELY AND CAREFULLY. IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND IT, CONTACT 

AN ATTORNEY FOR LEGAL ADVICE. 

 

A Petition for Dissolution (Divorce) has been filed with the court by your spouse. As a result, this 

Order is made at the direction of the Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of Arizona, Pima 

County, under the authority of Arizona Law, A.R.S. § 25-315 (A). This Order has the same force 

and effect as an Order personally signed by the Judge. You and your spouse are required to follow 

this Order. It may be enforced by any remedy available under the law, including an order of 

CONTEMPT OF COURT. 

 

1. ACTIONS BY YOU OR YOUR SPOUSE WHICH ARE FORBIDDEN BY THIS 

ORDER: From the time this Petition for Dissolution (Divorce) is filed with the court, until 

a Decree of Divorce is entered, or until further Order of the court, both the PETITIONER 

AND THE RESPONDENT shall not, by Order of this court, take any of the following 

forbidden actions:  

 

NOTE: THE LAW REQUIRES THAT THE EXACT LANGUAGE OF A.R.S. § 25-

315(A) BE INCLUDED IN THIS ORDER. FURTHER EXPLANATION OF THE 

REQUIREMENTS OF THIS ORDER ARE INCLUDED HERE BEFORE THE 

ACTUAL STATUTE (LAW). READ THE EXPLANATION, WHICH IS 

FOLLOWED BY THE STATUTE ITSELF. IF YOU HAVE FURTHER QUESTIONS 

YOU SHOULD CONTACT AN ATTORNEY FOR LEGAL ADVICE. 

 

a. RESTRICTIONS ON YOUR JOINT PROPERTY: This Order recognizes that since 

you and your spouse both may have an interest in property acquired or paid for during 

the marriage, you may not hide earnings or property from your spouse; you may not 

Person Filing:    

Address (if not protected):   

City, State, Zip Code:    

Telephone:    

Email Address:    

ATLAS Number:    

Lawyer’s Bar Number:   

Representing ☐ Self, without a Lawyer or 

☐ Attorney for ☐ Petitioner OR ☐ Respondent 

 

Petitioner 

and 

 

Respondent 

Case No.                                
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take out a loan on any of this property; you may not sell it or give it away to someone 

else, UNLESS you have the written permission of your spouse or permission in writing 

from the court. The law does recognize that there may be situations where joint or 

community property may need to be transferred as part of the everyday running of a 

business, or that occasionally the sale of community property is necessary to meet 

necessities of life, such as food, shelter, or clothing or court fees and reasonable attorney 

fees associated with this action. 

 

b. RESTRICTIONS ON YOUR BEHAVIOR: The Order is designed to protect you, 

your spouse, and your children from actions by your spouse which may be disruptive, 

or physically or emotionally harmful. While Divorce can be a difficult process, it does 

not give either spouse the right to either harass or bother the other spouse or the 

children. The court does not tolerate physical abuse or threats in any form. 

 

c. RESTRICTIONS ABOUT YOUR CHILDREN: This Order specifically states that 

you cannot take your common children out of the state of Arizona for any reason, 

without a written agreement between you and your spouse or a court Order, before the 

children are taken from the state. This Order is designed to allow both parents 

continuing access to and contact with the children. 

 

d. RESTRICTIONS ABOUT INSURANCE: Do not remove or cause to be removed the 

other party or the children of the parties from any existing insurance coverage, 

including medical, hospital, dental, automobile and disability insurance. Both parties 

shall maintain all insurance coverage in full force and effect. 

 

Arizona Law, A.R.S. § 25-315(A) specifically provides as follows: 

 

1. The preliminary injunction shall be directed to each party of the action and contain the 

following orders: 

 

a. That both parties are enjoined from transferring, encumbering, concealing, selling or 

otherwise disposing of any of the joint, common or community property of the parties 

except if related to the usual course of business, the necessities of life, or court fees and 

reasonable attorney fees associated with an action filed under this article, without the 

written consent of the parties or the permission of the court. 

 

b. That both parties are enjoined from molesting, harassing, disturbing the peace of or 

committing an assault or battery on the person of the other party or any natural or 

adopted child of the parties. 

 

c. That both parties are enjoined from removing any natural or adopted child of the parties 

then residing in Arizona from the jurisdiction of the court without the prior written 

consent of the parties or the permission of the court. 
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d. That both parties are enjoined from removing or causing to be removed the other party 

or the children of the parties from any existing insurance coverage, including medical, 

hospital, dental, automobile and disability insurance. That both parties shall maintain 

all insurance coverage in full force and effect. 

 

2. EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS ORDER: This Order is effective against the person who 

filed for divorce (the Petitioner) when the Petition was filed with the court. It is effective 

against the other party (the Respondent) when it is served according to law. If service is made 

upon the Respondent by registered mail according to the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, 

the Order is effective upon receipt of the Order by the Respondent. This Order shall remain 

in effect until further order of the court, or the entry of a Decree of Dissolution, Legal 

Separation, or Annulment is filed, or the action is dismissed. 

 

3. ADDITIONAL ORDER TO PETITIONER: You must serve a copy of this Order upon 

the Respondent with the copy of the Petition for Dissolution or Legal Separation and the 

Summons and other required court papers. 

 

WARNING 

 

THIS IS AN OFFICIAL COURT ORDER. IF YOU DISOBEY THIS ORDER, THE 

COURT MAY FIND YOU IN CONTEMPT OF COURT. YOU MAY ALSO BE 

ARRESTED AND PROSECUTED FOR THE CRIME OF INTERFERING WITH 

JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS AND ANY OTHER CRIME YOU MAY HAVE 

COMMITTED IN DISOBEYING THIS ORDER. 

 

YOU OR YOUR SPOUSE MAY FILE A CERTIFIED COPY OF THIS ORDER WITH 

YOUR LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY. A CERTIFIED COPY MAY BE 

OBTAINED FROM THE CLERK OF THE COURT WHICH ISSUED THIS ORDER. IF 

YOU ARE THE PERSON THAT BROUGHT THIS ACTION, YOU MUST ALSO FILE 

EVIDENCE WITH THE LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY THAT THIS ORDER WAS 

SERVED ON YOUR SPOUSE. 

 

THIS COURT ORDER IS EFFECTIVE UNTIL A FINAL DECREE OF DISSOLUTION 

OR OF LEGAL SEPARATION IS FILED OR THE ACTION IS DISMISSED. 

 

GIVEN under my hand and the Seal of the Superior Court of the State of Arizona in and for the  

County of Pima this  day of  , 20  . 

CLERK OF THE SUPERIOR COURT 
By  

 Deputy Clerk 
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Instructions for Completing the 

Petition for the Dissolution of 

Marriage (Divorce) Without Minor 

Children 
 

Use this form ONLY if you are getting a divorce and there are NO children involved! 

 

Make sure your form is titled PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE (DIVORCE) 

WITHOUT MINOR CHILDREN. 

 

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and telephone 

number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address. 

o If you are a victim of domestic violence or are in a domestic violence shelter, you may be able 

to request a protected, valid mailing address for your divorce papers. See the information 

about victims of domestic violence at the beginning of this packet. 

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name. 

• In both spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name. 

 

STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT UNDER OATH OR AFFIRMATION: 

The information in sections 1 through 5 will give the court basic information about you, your spouse, and 

your marriage. 

 

1. ABOUT ME, THE PETITIONOR 

This is basic information about you, the Petitioner. 

• Fill in your name, address, date of birth, occupation, and how long you have lived in Arizona. 

2. ABOUT MY SPOUSE, THE RESPONDENT 

This is basic information about your spouse, the Respondent. 

• Fill in your spouse’s name, address, date of birth, occupation, and how long your spouse has lived 

in Arizona. 

3. ABOUT OUR MARRIAGE 

This is general information about your marriage. 

• Fill in the date you were married, and the City and State where you were married. 

• If you were married outside the United States, list the country where you were married. 
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4. 90-DAY REQUIREMENT 

This tells the court that either you OR your spouse has lived in Arizona or been stationed here while 

in the Armed Forces, for at least 90 days. 

• Check one of the boxes. 

• If you or your spouse has not lived in Arizona for at least 90 days, you may 

not file for a divorce in Arizona. 

 

INFORMATION ABOUT PROPERTY AND DEBTS: 

Sections 5 through 8 tell the court about your property and debts and how you think they should be 

divided. 

Community property is any property you and your spouse bought or earned during your 

marriage. It doesn’t matter who uses the property or who actually paid the money. Both you and 

your spouse have a right to about an equal share of community property. Community debts 

belong to both spouses. It doesn’t matter who spent the money or whose name is on the debt as 

long as it was created during the marriage. Community debts should also be divided in half. 

Separate property is property that either spouse owned before the marriage or received during 

the marriage by gift or inheritance. Separate property is not divided during the divorce. 

Separate debts are debts that either spouse had before the marriage or that happened after the 

divorce petition was served. 

 

If you have questions, or you have a lot of community property and/or debts, you 

should consult a lawyer before you file your Petition. 

 

5. COMMUNITY PROPERTY (PROPERTY ACQUIRED DURING THE MARRIAGE) 

This tells the court if you and your spouse have any community property. 

• If you DO NOT have any community property, mark the first box and go to #7 Separate Property 

(Property Acquired Before the Marriage). 

• If you DO have community property, mark the second box. 

 

6. DESCRIPTION AND VALUE OF THE PROPERTY 

Now you need to tell the court what property should go to you and what property should go to your 

spouse. The court will try to give both spouses about the same amount, unless there are good reasons 

not to divide it equally. Think carefully about what you think would be a fair division. 

• If you already split the property before the divorce was filed, check “Property in each party’s 

possession” and check both Petitioner (you) and Respondent (your spouse). You may want to list 

the property anyway, to be on the safe side. 
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• If you don’t list the property, you can move to #7 Separate Property (Property Acquired 

Before the Marriage). 

• If you did not already split the property, list the specific items of property, about how much they 

are worth, and who should get them—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). Be as 

clear and detailed as possible. You can use the brand name and model. 

 

Real Estate (property or home) 

• Write the complete address of the property. Include the legal description of the property, 

such as “LOT 77, PINE TREE ACRES, according to Book 111 of Maps, etc.” You can 

find this information on your deed papers. 

• Check who should receive it— the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). You can 

ask the court to order it to be sold, with the profit divided between spouses. 

o Cemetery plots are considered real estate. 

o Mobile homes are considered real estate IF you own the land where the mobile home 

is sitting and the mobile home is permanently attached on that land. If not, a mobile 

home is a vehicle. 

 

Household furniture and appliances 

This includes sofas, beds, tables, refrigerators, etc. 

• Be as clear and detailed as possible and check who should receive it—the Petitioner (you) 

or Respondent (your spouse). 

 

Household furnishings 

This generally includes things in the house that are not furniture, such as dishes, small appliances, 

rugs, etc. 

• Be as clear and detailed as possible and check who should receive it—the Petitioner (you) 

or Respondent (your spouse). 

 

Other (explain) 

• List any items that have not already been included. Be as clear and detailed as possible 

and check who should receive it—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). 

 

Retirement Funds: Profit Sharing/Stock Plan/401K, IRA 

You and your spouse each usually have a right to a share of any spouse’s plan. How much 

depends on how long you were married and how long the pension or retirement plan was in 

effect. 
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• Mark this box if you want the court to divide either your or your spouse’s retirement or 

profit sharing/retirement/401K plan and check who should receive what—the Petitioner 

(you) or Respondent (your spouse). 

▪ If you mark this box, you should see an attorney about a document called a 

Qualified Domestic Relations Order or QDRO. This form is very complicated and 

difficult to file on your own. It almost always requires the help of a lawyer. 

▪ If you are unsure whether your spouse has a retirement plan, consult a lawyer. 

 

Motor vehicles 

• List the vehicle identification number, the year and make of the car (Ford, Chevrolet) and the 

model (Mustang, Camaro), etc. 

• List any lien holders who are on the title to the vehicle. A lien holder is usually the finance 

company who loaned you the money to buy the vehicle. 

• Remember, mobile homes NOT permanently attached to land that you own are considered 

vehicles. 

• Check who should receive the vehicle(s)— Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). 

 

7. SEPARATE PROPERTY (Property Acquired Before the Marriage) 

• If neither you nor your spouse brought any property into the marriage and did not receive any 

gifts or inheritances during the marriage, mark the first box and go to #8 Community Debts 

(Debts Incurred During the Marriage). 

• If you and your spouse have property that either of you brought into the marriage, or if you or 

your spouse received any gifts or inheritances during the marriage, mark the second box, and list 

each item and who should get each item—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). 

 

8. COMMUNITY DEBTS (Debts Created During the Marriage) 

• If neither you nor your spouse owe money or have any debts from the marriage, mark the first box 

and go to #9 Separate Debts (Debts Created Before the Marriage). 

• If you did acquire some debts, mark the second box. 

o Tell the court what the debts are and who should pay them—the Petitioner (you) or 

Respondent (your spouse). Be sure to enter enough information to be clear about each 

specific debt. 

• The court will require a fair split of the debts. 

• If you get the property that money is owed on, you probably will also receive the debt. 

• It is unusual for the court to order one person to pay all the debts. 

• Think carefully about what is a fair split. 
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Keep in mind that the Divorce Decree will order the debts to be split, but this order is 

NOT binding on the creditors. For example, if a community debt for a specific credit card 

was awarded to your spouse, and the spouse does not pay the debt, 

the creditor can still come after you for payment. You would then have to take your spouse back to 

court to enforce the decree. For more information, please see the Creditor Notification Form which is 

included in this packet. 

 

9. SEPARATE DEBTS (DEBTS INCURRED BEFORE THE MARRIAGE) 

• If neither you nor your spouse has separate debts from before you were married (or any debts 

incurred while you have been separated), mark the first box and go on to #10 Tax Returns. 

• If you do have separate debts, mark the second box, list the debts and check who should pay 

them—the Petitioner (you) or Respondent (your spouse). Be as clear and detailed as possible. 

10. TAX RETURNS 

• Mark the first box if this is how you want to handle income tax refunds. 

• Check the “Other” box, if you want a different arrangement. Describe the tax arrangement you 

want the court to order. 

 

11. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY) 

• Spousal maintenance, which used to be known as alimony, is money one spouse pays to the other 

to provide necessary support. 

• Spousal maintenance is paid separate from child support and is NOT a substitute for or 

supplement to child support. 

• The Spousal Maintenance Guidelines apply to all divorce cases filed after September 24, 2022. A 

calculator is now used to calculate the amount of spousal maintenance owed and the amount of 

time spousal maintenance should be paid under the Guidelines. The Spousal Maintenance 

Calculator is available here: https://www.azcourts.gov/familylaw/Child-Support-Family-Law-

Information/Spousal-Maintenance-Guidelines 

• PLEASE NOTE: you are required to file a Spousal Maintenance Worksheet if you request 

spousal maintenance in a default case. 

o Use the Spousal Maintenance Calculator to print a Spousal Maintenance Worksheet. 

o The Spousal Maintenance Worksheet can be filed at any time before a default 

Decree is entered. You can file the Worksheet with your Petition, submit it with 

your default Decree, or file it at any time in between. But the Worksheet must be 

filed before a default Decree can be signed by the judge. 

 

 

https://www.azcourts.gov/familylaw/Child-Support-Family-Law-Information/Spousal-Maintenance-Guidelines
https://www.azcourts.gov/familylaw/Child-Support-Family-Law-Information/Spousal-Maintenance-Guidelines
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12. PREGNANCY 

• If the wife is not pregnant, check the first box and go to #13. 

• If the wife IS pregnant, and the Respondent and Petitioner are the parents, you should 

STOP using this form. Instead, you should be using Packet #2, Divorce with Children 

Petition to file for divorce. 

 

13. OTHER STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT UNDER OATH 

Each of these statements must be true at the time you file for the divorce. If any of these statements is 

NOT true, you cannot file for a divorce. 

 

One of the spouses must believe that the marriage is “irretrievably broken,” which means that there is no 

way the marriage can be fixed and that there is no way you will get back together. If you believe your 

marriage is not irretrievably broken, please see Packet #16, Conciliation to request free marriage 

counseling through the Conciliation Court. 

 

REQUESTS I MAKE TO THE COURT: 

In this section, you are telling the court what you want ordered in the final decree. 

1. DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE) 

This is your request to end your marriage by a Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce). 

 

2. NAMES 

If you want to be legally known by a maiden or former name, mark the correct box. 

• Write in the new last name on the space provided. 

• You may not require your spouse to be known by another name without your spouse’s consent. 

 

3. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY) 

• If neither party is requesting spousal maintenance, mark the first box and go to #4 Community 

Property. 

• If you are asking the court to order one spouse to pay spousal maintenance to the other 

spouse, then check which party should pay spousal maintenance to the other and then 

complete sections a, b, and c regarding the (a) amount of spousal maintenance to be paid, 

(b) how long spousal maintenance will be paid, and (c) the required spousal maintenance 

worksheet. 
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4. COMMUNITY PROPERTY 

This asks the court to order the division of property that you requested in this Petition. 

 

5. COMMUNITY DEBTS 

This asks the court to order the division of debt that you requested in this Petition. 

 

If you or your spouse has acquired additional debts since you separated, and you want those debts to be 

considered separate and not community debts, write in the date of separation. Otherwise, the court will 

use the date of service of the Petition to determine the date community debt ended. 

 

6. SEPARATE PROPERTY 

This asks the court to order you and your spouse to keep the separate property you each owned before you 

were married or received during the marriage by gift or inheritance, as described in this Petition. 

 

7. SEPARATE DEBTS 

This asks the court to order you and your spouse each to be responsible for debts that each of you had 

from before the marriage, as described in this Petition. 

 

8. OTHER ORDERS THAT I AM REQUESTING 

This is where you tell the court anything else you may want ordered in your Divorce that has not been 

covered already in your Petition. 

• If there are none, write "None." 

 

OATH AND VERIFICATION OF PETITIONER: 

Sign this form in front of a notary. By doing so you are telling the court that everything in the Petition for 

Dissolution is true. Generally, you should sign all papers that you are filing at the Superior Court Clerk’s 

Office. The Clerk will notarize the papers. 

 

Now you need to read the Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance and the Creditor Notification 

Form and complete the Affidavit Re: Minor Children and the Confidential Sensitive Data Form. 

 

Also, if applicable, fill out the Order and Request for a Protected Address located at the end of this 

packet. 
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PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION 

OF MARRIAGE (DIVORCE) 

WITHOUT CHILDREN 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

 

 

 

 

 

STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT, UNDER OATH OR AFFIRMATION: 

1.  ABOUT ME, THE PETITIONER 

 Name:  

 Address:  

 Date of Birth:  

 Occupation:  

 Length of time party has lived in Arizona:  
 

  

2.  ABOUT MY SPOUSE, THE RESPONDENT 

 Name:  

 Address:  

 Date of Birth:  

 Occupation:  

 Length of time party has lived in Arizona:  
 

  

3.  ABOUT OUR MARRIAGE 

 Date of Marriage:  

 City and state or country where we were married:  
 

Person Filing:    

Address (if not protected):   

City, State, Zip Code:    

Telephone:    

Email Address:    

ATLAS Number:    

Lawyer’s Bar Number:   

Representing ☐ Self, without a Lawyer or 

☐ Attorney for ☐ Petitioner OR ☐ Respondent 

 

Petitioner 

and 

 

Respondent 

Case No.                                

ATLAS No.                           
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4.  90-DAY REQUIREMENT  

 

☐ Either I and/or ☐ my spouse has lived or been stationed, while a member of the Armed 

Forces, in Arizona for at least 90 days before I filed this petition. (WARNING TO 

PETITIONER: IF THIS STATEMENT IS NOT TRUE, YOU CANNOT FILE FOR A 

DIVORCE UNTIL IT BECOMES TRUE). 
  

5.  COMMUNITY PROPERTY (PROPERTY ACQUIRED DURING THE 

MARRIAGE) – check one box 

 ☐ My spouse and I did not acquire any community property during the marriage. 

 
☐ 

My spouse and I did acquire community property during our marriage, and it 

should be divided as follows: 
 

  

6.  PREGNANCY 

 
☐ Wife is not pregnant OR 

☐ Wife is pregnant and the baby is due on                      and (check one box): 

  

☐ My spouse and I are the parents of the child, OR 

☐ I am not the parent of the child, OR 

☐ My spouse is not the parent of the child. 
   

7.  DESCRIPTION AND VALUE OF THE COMMUNITY PROPERTY AND HOW 

IT SHOULD BE DIVIDED. 

  TO PETITIONER TO RESPONDENT 

 ☐ Property in each party’s possession ☐  ☐  

 ☐ Real estate at:  ☐  ☐  

  Legal Description (from the Deed):     

       

       

 ☐ Real estate at:  ☐  ☐  

  Legal Description (from the Deed):     

       

       

 Household furniture and appliances:     

 (For example: Bedroom furniture: $250)     

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  
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  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

 Household furnishings:     

 (For example: lamp: $30)     

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

 Other items:     

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  
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 Retirement Funds: Pension/Profit 

Sharing/Stock Plan/401K/IRA: 
   

 

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

  ☐  ☐  

 Motor vehicle:  ☐  ☐  

 Make:  Model:      

 VIN:      

 Lien Holder:      

 Motor vehicle:  ☐  ☐  

 Make:  Model:      

 VIN:      

 Lien Holder:      

 Motor vehicle:  ☐  ☐  

 Make:  Model:      

 VIN:      

 Lien Holder:      

 Motor vehicle:  ☐  ☐  

 Make:  Model:      

 VIN:      

 Lien Holder:      
       

8.  SEPARATE PROPERTY (PROPERTY ACQUIRED BEFORE THE MARRIAGE)  

check one box 

 ☐ My spouse and I do not have any property either of us brought into the marriage. 

 ☐ My spouse or I have property that either of us brought into the marriage and it 

should be awarded as follows: 

  Description of Separate Property PETITIONER RESPONDENT 

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  
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9.  COMMUNITY DEBTS (DEBTS INCURRED DURING THE MARRIAGE) 

check one box 

 ☐ My spouse and I did not incur any community debts during the marriage. 

 ☐ My spouse and I did incur community debts during the marriage and responsibility 

for these debts should be divided as follows: 

 
 

Description and Amount of Community 

Debt 
PETITIONER RESPONDENT 

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  
 

      

10.  SEPARATE DEBTS (DEBTS INCURRED BEFORE THE MARRIAGE) – check 

one box. 

 ☐ My spouse and I do not have any debts that were incurred before the marriage. 

 
☐ 

My spouse or I have separate debts that were incurred before the marriage and the 

responsibility for these debts should be divided as follows: 

  Description and Amount of Separate Debt PETITIONER RESPONDENT 

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  

   ☐  ☐  
       

11.  TAX RETURNS – check one box 

 ☐ After the Judicial Officer signs the Decree of Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce), 

my spouse and I will pay federal and state taxes as follows: the years we were 

married but not including the year the Decree was signed, my spouse and I will file 

joint federal and state income tax returns. For these previous years, my spouse and 

I will also pay and hold the other harmless from ½ of all additional income taxes, if 

any, and all other costs, and share equally in any refunds. For the calendar year that 

the decree was signed and all future years, each party will file separate federal and 

state income tax returns and each will give the other party all necessary 

documentation to do so. 

 ☐ Other – describe any other tax arrangements you wish the Court to award: 
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12.  SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY) – check the box that applies to you 

 ☐ Neither party is entitled to spousal maintenance (alimony). 

 ☐ ☐ Petitioner OR ☐ Respondent is entitled to spousal maintenance because: (check 

ANY boxes that apply. At least one must apply to get spousal maintenance) 

  ☐ Person lacks sufficient property to provide for his or her reasonable needs 

  ☐ Person is unable to support himself or herself through appropriate 

employment 

  ☐ Person is the custodian of a child or children whose age or condition is such 

that person should not be required to seek employment outside the home 

  ☐ Person lacks earning ability in the labor market adequate to support himself 

or herself 

  ☐ Person contributed to the educational opportunities of the other spouse 

  ☐ Person had a marriage of long duration and is now of an age that precludes the 

possibility of gaining employment adequate to support himself or herself 

  ☐ Person has significantly reduced income or career opportunities for the benefit 

of the other spouse. 
    

13.  OTHER STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT UNDER OATH – To obtain a 

divorce, you must be able to tell the Court that each of the following statements is true. If 

any of the statements is not true you cannot file for divorce until all the statements are true. 

 
☐ 

TRUE My marriage is irretrievably broken and there is no reasonable prospect of 

reconciliation. 

 ☐ TRUE My marriage is not a covenant marriage. 

 
☐ 

TRUE The conciliation requirements under Arizona law either do not apply or have 

been met. 

 
☐ 

TRUE This court has jurisdiction to decide child legal decision making/parenting 

time under Arizona law. 
 

REQUESTS I MAKE TO THE COURT 

1.  DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE): Dissolve the marriage and return each party to the status of a 

single person. 
 

 

2.  SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY): 
 

 

 ☐ Neither party shall pay spousal maintenance (alimony) to the other party. 

 

 OR 

 

☐ Petitioner ☐ Respondent should be ordered to pay spousal maintenance to the 

other party beginning ☐ the first day of the month after service of the Petition for Dissolution, 

or ☐ the first day of the month following the entry of a Decree of Dissolution. 
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If you are requesting spousal maintenance, you must complete sections a, b, and c below: 

 

a. Amount of Spousal Maintenance (You must enter an amount):  

 

 ☐    I request that $______________ be paid each month in spousal maintenance.  

   

b.  Duration of Payments (how long spousal maintenance will be paid – You must check 

one of the following boxes): 

 

Spousal maintenance will be paid for the following period (choose one): 

 

☐  Until the Court orders the payments to stop; 

  

☐   For ____________________ months (example: 60 months) 

 

☐  Other:________________________________________________________ 

 

______________________________________________________________________ 

 

___________________________________________________________________ 

 

c. Spousal Maintenance Worksheet (You must select one of the options): 

 

 ☐    The amount and duration of spousal maintenance that I have requested falls 

within the range calculated by the Spousal Maintenance Guidelines and ☐ I have 

attached a Spousal Maintenance Worksheet OR ☐  I will provide a Spousal 

Maintenance Worksheet when I file the final Decree of Dissolution. 

 

OR 

 

 ☐    The amount and duration of spousal maintenance that I have requested does not 

fall within the range calculated by the Spousal Maintenance Guidelines and I am 

requesting a different amount (deviation). I believe application of the Spousal 

Maintenance Guidelines is inappropriate or unjust. The amount I am requesting is fair 

because:  

 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

 

_________________________________________________________________________ 
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3.  COMMUNITY PROPERTY: Make a fair division of all community property as requested 

above in this Petition. 
 

 

4.  COMMUNITY DEBTS: Order each party to pay community debts as requested above in this 

Petition, and to pay any other community debts unknown to the other party. Order each party 

to pay and hold the other party harmless from debts incurred by him or her since the parties 

separated on                          or from the date of service of this Petition on Respondent. 
 

 

5.  SEPARATE PROPERTY: Award each party his or her separate property as requested above 

in this Petition. 
 

 

6.  SEPARATE DEBTS: Order each party to pay his or her separate debts as requested above in 

this Petition. 
 

 

7.  NAMES: Restore ☐ Wife’s or ☐ Husband’s to her or his former name of: 

    
 First Name Middle Name Last Name 
 

   

 Note: If you are not the person who is requesting to have your former name restored, the Court 

must have a written request from the party who wants his or her name restored. 
 

 

8.  OTHER ORDERS THAT I AM REQUESTING: (explain request here) 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

Petitioner’s Signature on following page. 
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OATH AND VERIFICATION OF PETITIONER: 

STATE OF ARIZONA 

COUNTY OF PIMA 

I,                                                 , the Petitioner, being duly sworn and under oath, state that I 

have read this Petition. All the statements in the Petition are true, correct and complete to the 

best of my knowledge and belief. 

 

SIGNED:  
  Petitioner’s Signature 

 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this                  day of                                 , 20                 by 

 
(Petitioner’s Name) 

 

  

 Notary Public 

My commission expires:  

 (seal) 
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NOTICE OF YOUR RIGHTS ABOUT HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE 

WHEN A PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE) IS FILED  

(A.R.S. §20-1377 AND §20-1408) 

Petitioner:                                                    Case #:                                             

Respondent:                                                 

 

WARNING: THIS IS AN IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE. YOUR RIGHTS TO 

HEALTH INSURANCE COVERATE COULD BE AFFECTED AFTER YOUR 

DIVORCE IS FINAL. READ THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY. IF YOU DO NOT 

UNDERSTAND THIS NOTICE, YOU SHOULD CALL AN ATTORNEY FOR ADVICE 

ABOUT YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS. 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION IF YOU ARE ON YOUR SPOUSE’S INSURANCE 

PLAN: When a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (papers for a divorce decree) is filed, you 

and/or your children may continue to be covered under your spouse’s health insurance policy. 

Arizona law allows the dependent spouse and/or children to continue to be covered, but you must 

take some steps to protect your rights. 

WHAT INSURANCE COVERAGE APPLIES TO YOU, AND HOW TO GET IT: If you 

are covered by your spouse’s health insurance, and you want to continue to be covered after the 

divorce is final, you must contact the insurance company as soon as possible, and you must start 

to pay the monthly insurance premium within 31 days of the date the insurance would otherwise 

stop. 

If you decide you want to be covered, the insurer can choose whether to continue coverage under 

the current policy, or to change the policy to your name. If the policy is changed to your name, it 

is called a “converted” policy. If the policy is converted by the insurer, the insurer must provide 

the same or the most similar level of coverage available, unless you ask for a lower level of 

coverage.  

WHAT COVERAGE APPLIES TO YOUR CHILDREN: If you choose to continue coverage 

as a dependent spouse, you can also choose to continue coverage for your dependent children if 

you are responsible for their care or support.  

PREEXISTING CONDITIONS OR EXCLUSIONS FROM INSURANCE COVERAGE: 

Whether the insurance is continued or converted, the insurance must be provided to you without 

proof of insurability and without exclusions for coverage other than what was previously excluded 

before the insurance was continued or converted.  

LIMITS ON RIGHTS TO INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR YOU AND YOUR 

CHIDLREN: You may not be entitled to continued or converted coverage if you are eligible for 

Medicare or for coverage by other similar types of insurance which together with the continued 

coverage would make you over-insured. However, dependent children of a person who is eligible 
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for Medicare may be covered by a continuance or a conversion. If you have questions about 

coverage, check with the insurer and/or the spouse’s employer. 

OTHER OPTIONS FOR COVERAGE: Divorce is considered to be a life changing event that, 

under the federal Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (“COBRA”), may qualify 

you and/or your dependents with the right to continue health coverage under the spouse’s group 

plan, if the employer has 20 or more employees. To find out more about your COBRA rights, you 

can visit the United States Department of Labor (“USDOL”) website at https://www.dol.gov/ and 

search for COBRA, or you can call the USDOL at 1-866-487-2365. Divorce is also a life-changing 

event under the federal Affordable Care Act, which qualifies you and/or your dependents for a 

special enrollment period to obtain an individual health insurance policy regardless of any health 

conditions. Additional information is available at https://www.healthcare.gov/ or by calling  

1-800-318-2596. 

WARNING TO THE SPOUSE FILING THE PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION 

(DIVORCE): This Notice must be served on your spouse together with the Petition for 

Dissolution, the Summons, and the Preliminary Injunction. 
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NOTICE TO CREDITORS 
 

In your property settlement agreement or decree of dissolution or legal separation, the court may assign 

responsibility for certain community debts to one spouse or the other. Please be aware that a court order 

that does this is binding on the spouses only and does not necessarily relieve either of you from your 

responsibility for these community debts. These debts are matters of a contract between both of you and 

your creditors (such as banks, credit unions, credit card issuers, finance companies, utility companies, 

medical providers and retailers). 

 

Since your creditors are not parties to this court case, they are not bound by court orders or any 

agreements you and your spouse reach in this case. On request, the court may impose a lien against the 

separate property of a spouse to secure payment of debts that the court orders the spouse to pay. 

 

You may want to contact your creditors to discuss your debts as well as the possible effects of your 

court case on your debts. To assist you in identifying your creditors, you may obtain a copy of your 

spouse’s credit report by making a written request to the court for an order requiring a credit reporting 

agency to release the report to you. Within thirty days after receipt of a request from a spouse who is 

party to a dissolution of marriage or legal separation action, which includes the court and case number of 

the action, creditors are required by law to provide information as to the balance and account status of 

any debts for which the requesting spouse may be liable to the creditor. You may wish to use the 

following form, or one that is similar to contact your creditors. 
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REQUEST FOR ACCOUNT INFORMATION FROM CREDITORS 

 

You may use this form to request information about debt owed by you or your spouse.  

If so, send to the creditor. DO NOT FILE THIS PAGE WITH THE COURT. 

 

DATE:                                             

CREDITOR’S NAME:                                                                                                                   

CREDITOR’S ADDRESS:                                                                                                             

Regarding: Superior Court of Arizona in Pima County 

Case Name: 
 

Case Number: 

  
Pursuant to Arizona State Law (ARS §25-318), this letter requests the balance and account 
status of any debt for which the following individuals may be liable to you. Arizona law requires 
that you provide this information within thirty (30) days of receipt of this letter. 
 

 

INFORMATION ABOUT DEBTORS/SPOUSES: 

Your Name: 
 

Your Address: 

 
 

Your Phone Number: 
 

Your Spouse’s Name: 
 

Your Spouse’s Address: 
 

INFORMATION ABOUT THE ACCOUNT: 

Account Number(s): 
 

If you have any questions or if I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me. 

Sincerely, 
 

Your name: 
 

Your signature: 
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Instructions for Completing the 

Confidential Sensitive Data Form 
 

 

 

 

About the Confidential Sensitive Data Form: 

The Divorce Petition and Response are public documents. This means the public can see 

them in person or electronically. 

 

The Confidential Sensitive Data Form is not made available to the public. 

 

Sensitive data includes: 

• Social security number 

• Bank account numbers 

• Credit card numbers 

• Other financial account numbers 

 

Use the Confidential Sensitive Data Form to provide sensitive data. This form will not be available to 

the public. 

• At the top of the form, fill in your name, street address, City, State, ZIP code, and telephone 

number, unless you are requesting a Protected Address. 

• In the space that says “Petitioner,” fill in your name. 

• In the spaces that say “Respondent,” fill in your spouse’s name. 

• Provide all other information pertaining to you and your spouse, to the best of your ability 
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CONFIDENTIAL SENSITIVE 

DATA FORM 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

 

 

 

 

A. Personal Information: 

 Name   Birth Date  Social Security Number 

 Petitioner:      

 Respondent:      

 Child:      

 Child:      

 Child:      

 Child:      
       

B. Financial account numbers (including credit cards, financial institution accounts, investments, debts): 

 Financial Institution  Type of Account  Name(s) on Account  Account # 

        

        

        

        

        

        
        

C. Pension and retirement accounts (including IRAs and 401ks): 

 Financial Institution  Type of Account  Name(s) on Account  Account # 

        

        

        
        

 Life insurance policies: 

 Insurance Company  Type of Policy  Name(s) on Policy  Policy # 

        

        
 

Person Filing:    

Address (if not protected):   

City, State, Zip Code:    

Telephone:    

Email Address:    

ATLAS Number:    

Lawyer’s Bar Number:   

Representing ☐ Self, without a Lawyer or 

☐ Attorney for ☐ Petitioner OR ☐ Respondent 

 

Petitioner 

and 

 

Respondent 

Case No.                                
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Checklist and Instructions for Filing the 

Petition and Serving Your Spouse 
 

 

 

1. Make copies of the following completed documents: 

You will need the original plus two copies of the following documents: 

 Summons 

 Preliminary Injunction 

 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage without Children 

 

You will need the original plus one copy of the following documents: 

 Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance 

 Domestic Relations Cover Sheet 

 Confidential Sensitive Data Form 

 Creditor’s Notification 

 Deferral/Waiver of Fees/Costs Form if applicable 

 Request and Order for Protected Address if applicable 

 

 

2. Separate the documents into 3 sets. 

• Set 1 (Original Documents) goes to the Clerk of the Court 

o Domestic Relations Cover Sheet 

o Summons 

o Preliminary Injunction 

o Petition for Dissolution of Marriage 

o Confidential Sensitive Data Form 

o Deferral/Waiver of Fees/Costs 

o Request for Protected Address 

 

• Set 2 will go to your spouse 

o Summons 
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o Preliminary Injunction 

o Petition for Dissolution of Marriage 

o Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance 

o Creditor Notification 

 

• Set 3 is your set of copies 

o Same as Set 2, plus the Confidential Sensitive Data Form, the Domestic Relations Cover 

Sheet, the Deferral/Waiver of Fees/Costs Form, and Request for Protected Address Form if 

applicable 

 

3. File the papers at the court. 

• Take your packet to the Clerk of the Superior Court 

First Floor 

Superior Court Building  

110 West Congress 

Tucson, AZ 85701 

Open 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday (except legal holidays) 

• Arrive at the court at least one hour before it closes. 

o There is a filing fee for all Petitions and there are Service Fees. If you qualify, you may 

request a Deferral or Waiver of the filing fees at the time you file your papers with the Clerk 

of the Court. You must get a waiver or deferral approved BEFORE you can file or serve the 

Petition. See Packet #12, Deferral or Waiver of Fees or Costs for more information. 

• MAKE SURE YOU LEAVE WITH: 

o Your set of copies 

o Your spouse’s set of copies 

o Your original summons 

 

4. Serve the court papers on your spouse 

• Use Packet #10, Service of Papers on the Other Party. 
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Next Steps 
 

 

1. Wait to see if your spouse responds to the petition. 

• If you serve your spouse in Arizona, you must wait 21 days 

• If you serve your spouse outside of Arizona, you must wait 31 days 

• If you serve your spouse by Publication within Arizona, you must wait 51 days 

 

2. If your spouse does not file a Response to your Petition through the court the divorce can proceed 

as a Default. A Default means that the court will order the reasonable and lawful requests you 

asked for in your Petition. Before your divorce can proceed as a Default, you must file an 

application for Default. Forms and instructions are in Packet #11 Obtaining a Default Decree. 

 

If your spouse filed a response and you cannot reach an agreement, you will need to have a divorce 

trial. Forms and instruction are in Packet #14, Family Law Cases Trial Preparation. If this is the 

case, you should seek the advice of a lawyer. 

 

3. Prepare and submit final paperwork for the judicial officer to sign. The final decree from the court 

makes your divorce final. The forms and instructions for the final decision are in Packet #7, Divorce 

without Children Decree. 

 

4. Mail a copy of your signed decree to your spouse within three judicial days. 
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REQUEST FOR PROTECTED 

ADDRESS 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

 

 

 

 

I request the court to order that my address be protected from public disclosure, including 

disclosure to the opposing part(ies) in this case. 
 

I reasonably believe that physical or emotional harm may result to me or my minor child(ren) if 

my address is not protected from disclosure, for the following reasons: 
 

☐ I have a valid Order of Protection in place issued by the following court: 

 

 

OR 

 

☐ Other reasons briefly described below: 

 

 
 

I have listed my address on a separate sheet of paper for court use. 
 

I understand that I have a continuing duty to provide the clerk of the court with a current and 

correct mailing address where I can be served with process until one of the following events 

stated in Rule 7(D), Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure occurs. 

 

   

Date   

   

  Requestor’s Signature 

   

PERSON WHOSE ADDRESS IS PROTECTED:  

 ☐ Petitioner ☐ Respondent 
 

Person Filing:    

Address (if not protected):   

City, State, Zip Code:    

Telephone:    

Email Address:    

ATLAS Number:    

Lawyer’s Bar Number:   

Representing ☐ Self, without a Lawyer or 

☐ Attorney for ☐ Petitioner OR ☐ Respondent 

 

Petitioner 

and 

 

Respondent 

Case No.                                
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ADDRESS TO BE PROTECTED: 

 

☐ Petitioner ☐ Respondent 

 

Name:  

  

Street:  

  

City, State, Zip:  

  

Telephone #:  
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ORDER FOR PROTECTED 

ADDRESS 

ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT, PIMA COUNTY 

 

 

 

 

Upon request of ☐ Petitioner ☐ Respondent, and good cause appearing, 
 

IT IS ORDERED that: 
 

The address of ☐   Petitioner ☐   Respondent shall be protected from public disclosure until 

further order of this court. 
 

The Clerk shall protect the address of ☐   Petitioner ☐   Respondent from public disclosure until 

further order of this court. 
 

The Clerk and the parties hereto shall comply with the requirements of Rule 7, A.R.F.L.P. 
 

Any person required under these rules to serve a response or other document upon a person whose 

address is ordered protected from disclosure under this rule may serve the same by delivering true 

and correct copies of the documents to be served, together with the proper fee established by 

administrative order to cover the cost of service, to the clerk of the court. The clerk shall promptly 

mail the documents by regular first-class to the most recent protected address provided to the 

clerk, and service shall be deemed complete upon mailing. The clerk shall promptly file a written 

statement verifying the documents that were mailed and the date of mailing to the protected 

address signed by the clerk or deputy clerk who mailed the documents. All documents mailed to 

a protected address shall bear the clerk’s return address, and a notation of any process returned as 

undeliverable shall be made in the court file. 

 

 

   

Date  Judicial Officer 
 

Person Filing:    

Address (if not protected):   

City, State, Zip Code:    

Telephone:    

Email Address:    

ATLAS Number:    

Lawyer’s Bar Number:   

Representing☐ Self, without a Lawyer or 

☐ Attorney for ☐ Petitioner OR ☐ Respondent 

 

Petitioner 

and 

 

Respondent 

Case No.  


