Court Logo Court Logo
Arizona Superior Court in Pima County


The United States and Arizona Constitutions guarantee the right to trial by a fair and impartial jury in certain types of cases. Pima County residents are obligated by state law to serve as jurors unless disqualified or excused. Justice and fairness depend on the jurors who serve on our trials.  Jury service can be a rewarding experience, and your participation is appreciated. Thank you!

Prospective jurors are selected randomly from the Pima County Master Jury File, which includes people who are registered to vote and those who have a driver's license or State identification card from the Arizona Department of Transportation. Jury service is not voluntary. It is a civic duty imposed on all United States citizens. You do not need any special skills or legal knowledge to be a juror.

Read the entire summons front and back. Please complete the online Contact, Qualifications and Excuses questionnaires (and Disability Questionnaire if needed).  If you are unable to do the questions online, you may mail in the paper copy, which is the bottom portion of the summons. You do NOT need to mail it if you complete it online. Please submit it within 10 days of receipt, and please do not wait until your report date to submit it.

Qualified jurors must be at least 18 years old and meet the following requirements:

Be a United States citizen

Be a Pima County resident

Never have been convicted of a felony unless your civil rights have been restore

Not currently be adjudicated (by a court) mentally incompetent or insane

Requests to be excused must be in writing. They are not granted on the basis of religious or moral beliefs, or professional, business or student status. Requests must include documentation as needed as detailed on the jury summons, that supports the request. Requests to be excused will not be granted over the phone.


Below are some reasons you may request to be excused:

No longer live in Pima County.

Medical issues (mental or physical issues documented by a medical provider).

Full-time caregiver for a family member or dependent.

AZPOST certified AND currently employed as a peace officer by the State of Arizona of a political subdivision of the state.

Active duty Air National Guard member or military member serving OUTSIDE of Pima County.

Not capable of understanding English.

75 years of age or older.

Extreme financial hardship (supported with documentation of income and expenses).

Yes, regular trial jurors can change their report date by selecting a new date within 90 days of their original report date. You may submit the request for a new date online after submitting your qualification questionnaire information, or use the Reschedule Request section on the front of the paper qualification questionnaire. The exception is jurors who completed online questions about their specific case as part of a pre-reporting questionnaire. Jurors attached to these cases with pre-reporting questionnaires need judicial permission to move to another date.

Grand jurors who receive a letter summoning them for grand jury selection should contact the jury office at (520) 724-4222 if they cannot report on their assigned date.

Jury service lasts for one day or the length of one trial. On the first day of jury service, be prepared to remain at the courthouse the entire day, possibly from 7:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. You will have breaks throughout the day and will have about an hour for lunch. Restaurants are located within walking distance of the court or you may bring your lunch.

If you are not selected on a trial on your first day your jury service will be done, unless jury selection continues to another day.

If you are selected on a trial your jury service will be for the length of that trial. The average jury trial is two to four days long, but some trials are only one day and others can last more than a week.

Grand jurors who are selected on a Pima County Grand Jury, serve two days per week for approximately four months. Grand jurors who are selected on a State Grand Jury serve for several days a month in Phoenix over a period of six months.

Contact the jury office at (520) 724-4222 between 7 a.m to 5 p.m., Mondays to Fridays, except court holidays.

The Arizona Superior Court in Pima County is located at 110 W. Congress Street in downtown Tucson. The jury assembly room is room 137 on the first floor of the courthouse. Pima County Consolidated Justice Court is located at 240 N. Stone. Tucson City Court is located at 103 E. Alameda. Your reporting location will be on your summons and in your group’s reporting information at or (520) 724-6400 the day before you report.

There is no designated place for jurors to park and there is no free parking for jurors so may park wherever you like. Discounted juror parking is available at only one parking garage, the Pima County Public Works Parking Garage, which is located at 50 W. Alameda Street. This above-ground garage is on the north side of Alameda Street between Stone and Church Avenues, next to the YMCA. If you park at the Pima County Public Works Parking Garage, bring your ticket with you to the jury assembly room to be validated for the discount. Pay the discounted amount at a pay station before returning to your vehicle.

There are many other parking locations available in downtown Tucson but they do not provide a discount. Rates and vehicle clearances vary. Please contact individual garages for more information.

If you need handicap parking and have a handicap plate or placard, call the jury office at 724-4222 between 3:00 and 4:00 p.m. the business day before your report date for information on where to park.

Jurors should dress comfortably but appropriately for a courthouse. Do NOT wear shorts, tank tops, halter tops, mini skirts or flip-flops. Temperatures in the jury assembly room and the courtrooms may vary so layering is advised. As a courtesy to others, please avoid heavily scented lotions, perfumes and colognes.

You may use your mobile devices in the jury assembly room. Bring your own charger if you need one. Courtesy phones are also available in the assembly room. Cell phones should not be used in other areas of the courthouse, including the hallways, and must be turned off when you are in a courtroom. You may not use your mobile devices to take pictures or video or make recordings anywhere inside the courthouse. Wireless internet is available in the courthouse.

The court has a security screening system with metal detectors and x-ray machines. Anything considered to be a weapon or deemed unacceptable by the security will be held or dealt with appropriately. Specifically, do not bring glass containers, metal utensils, crochet hooks, knitting needles, scissors, metal nail files, tape measures or tools.

Security Restrictions

Yes, employers may not refuse to permit you to serve as a juror. They may not dismiss or in any way penalize you for serving as a juror. You should communicate with your employer once you get the jury summons. Employers are not required to pay you while you serve as a juror, but many employers do.  You may want to check with your employer to find out if there is a jury service policy and if you will get paid by your employer. If you have problems, concerns or questions about how jury service may affect your job, contact the Jury Commissioner’s Office.

Yes, Jurors are entitled to roundtrip mileage (62.5 cents per mile) for each day regardless of how they get to the courthouse. Jurors sworn on a specific case receive a per diem of $12. Jurors who are not paid by their employer and serve on a specific case beyond the first day, can be compensated for documented lost income up to $300 per day of jury service. Jurors who are not employed or are retired can be paid a daily rate of $40 plus roundtrip mileage. To receive this compensation, a juror will need to submit the claim form to the jury office. Jurors are given a debit card when they arrive for jury service. Funds are deposited weekly for jurors entitled to jury pay.

If you are not selected on a trial or were excused you will not receive another summons for at least one year. If you are selected on a trial you will not receive another summons for at least two years. If you serve as a grand juror you will not receive another summons for at least two years, but if you receive one within four years of your last day of grand jury service you may contact the Jury Commissioner’s office and request to be excused from the new summons.

You may also contact the Jury Commissioner’s Office if you receive a Pima County jury summons but had to report for another court such as federal court within the past year or served as a juror in another court within the past two years.
Sally K. Digges

Jury Commissioner

Jury Commissioner's Office
110 West Congress Street
Room 132
Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone: (520) 724-4222

   Office Hours:

   7:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

   Monday - Friday

   (except Court Holidays)



(520) 724-3657

Dial 711 for Relay Service


[email protected]