Court Logo Court Logo
Arizona Superior Court in Pima County

Public Comment Sought for Commissioner Candidates by June 5, 2023


Superior Court in Pima County Requesting Comments for Commissioner Applicants

Friday, May 19, 2023 by Arizona Superior Court in Pima County

The Superior Court in Pima County is requesting comments on applicants for two commissioner vacancies on its bench. The positions became available upon Hon. Randi Burnett’s elevation to superior court judge by Governor Katie Hobbs and the retirement of Hon. Deborah Pratte.

Court commissioners may work in either the Superior or Juvenile Court complex, and are assigned to cases involving family law, child support and enforcement, probate and guardianship, juvenile law, protection orders, and civil mental health matters.

Sixteen applications were reviewed by the court’s Commissioner Selection Committee, and the following seven attorneys will be interviewed on June 13, 2023, between 11:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., in conference room 920 of the Superior Court building.

• Daniel Huff
• Derek Koltunovich
• Michelle Metzger
• Victoria Otto
• Edina Strum
• Michael Vampotic
• Nathan Wade

The court invites your feedback in writing or orally to a committee member. Anonymous comments will not be considered. Comments must be received no later than noon on June 5, 2023.

Written comments should be submitted to the Human Resources department of the Superior Court in Pima County, e-mail [email protected], mail 110 W. Congress, 9th Floor, Tucson, AZ. 85701, or fax (520) 724-4253.

Oral comments may be directed to any member of the Commissioner Selection Committee, including Hon. Danelle Liwski, Co-Chair; Hon. Peter Hochuli, Co-Chair; Hon. Alan Goodwin; Hon. Lisa Bibbens; Kasey Coughlin, Esq.; Nicci Hinderaker, Esq.; Greta Vietor, Esq.; and public members: Pastor D. Grady Scott; Carmen Hernandez; and Lance Meeks.

Superior Court Presiding Judge Jeffrey T. Bergin and Associate Juvenile Court Presiding Judge Michael Butler will make the appointments following interviews of the selected finalists on June 21 and/or June 23, 2023.